scrappystickyinkymess

WOYWW 189 – kitting out my scraps

48 Comments

Just a couple of rubbish photos today – I waited too long to snap my plans for the day and it got dark on me.  Funny how that happens so early this time of year!

As you may recall I mentioned how I organize my patterned papers by creating “kits” of stuff that goes together, rather than trying to organize them by make or colour or pattern. My paper and card storage looks like this – it’s not pretty, but it works for me.

woyww189

I use the ArchLever dividers as the 12 x 12 sheets fit perfectly.  I get them from Staples and they are cheap – of course you cannot see them as stuffed as they are with …. stuff!

They live in a small bookshelf that sits on the side of my desk.  The bottom is all the coloured cardstock and the top two are my “kits” in plastic bags (you can only see the bottom two in the photo, card and one shelf of kits) and I just grab one when I am planning a layout.

The real horror is the fact I have not made up kits for a long time.  And I haven’t managed to sort my scraps either.  Yes, THIS is what I plan to attack today! I urge yo to look away now ….

woyww189a

Shocking?  Probably not for WOYWW folk.  But it is getting (has gotten?) out of control.

So that’s me busy for the day.  That and another follow-up with the Dr.  I’ll be well happy when THAT is all done.

Between sorting I will be desk hopping, and praying SOMEONE is messier than me…but I am kinds doubting it.

Happy WOYWW all!

48 thoughts on “WOYWW 189 – kitting out my scraps

  1. Oh my that is alot to work thru in the scraps pile. Happy WOYWW hugs Nikki #6

  2. Well you may find someone messier – but it will be a challenge ! LOL ! Hope you make it through that mound of paper & find a desk beneath !! Great idea to make up project kits as you go ! Ali #8

  3. I like the idea of the kits but would be frightened that the bit of paper (singular) that I just had to use for something would be inside a kit when I came to need it… thus making it impossible to find or ruining the kit? LOL I don’t envy you sorting that pile of scraps but i have something similar on the side of my desk which really needs to tackled!!

  4. Now that is a clever idea … love the “bag a Kindle” perfect for reading while eating.
    Sandra @16

  5. they look soooooo pretty when they’re organized, don’t they?
    i’m sure you won’t have the messiest desk – this is a global desk-hop, after all!
    Happy WOYWW and have a wonderful week :o)
    no. 2
    you just pipped me to no. 1!
    and there’s no nicer person to be pipped by xx

  6. Not shocking… let´s say busy, homely… It´s the scrap´s nature to be out of control, I believe. ;D
    Happy WOYWW!
    Tuire #5

  7. We all must have the same scrap mess. I work with it once a week and still don’t use them…da
    Mine use to be fabric and still have some of that to deal with.
    Good luck with your doctor visit. I’d rather go to the dentist. It’s been sorting and destroying here. Lots to go thru and organize, but I am making progress. Happy WOYWW #13

  8. Happy WOYWW and congrats on the No.1 spot. Not sure how to get higher up the list. When I first looked Julia hadn’t published yet, and then I went back a few minutes later and there are 26 in front of me! Good luck with sorting out that scrap pile. Must be some gorgeous papers hidden in there! Ali x #27

  9. It seems it was only a short while ago I sorted my scraps (smaller than your scraps, perhaps I save too much…!) and it too is out of control again! Love your storage and I will investigate….!!! Happy WOYWW Helen #10

  10. I love the picture of your paper!!!
    Not scary at all
    Jackie 26
    Scrapbangwallop

  11. what a lot of paper but a really good idea spesh if it works for you i am having a use scraps week am determined to cut my box of scraps down

    Happy WOYWW Mrs.C #46 {i think?!}
    craftylittlemoos.blogspot.com

  12. what a clever idea….#62

  13. It looks like mine but mine are behind a cupboard door…and they are most definitely not sorted into potential LOs! Good system if you ask me. I think some power cropping is in order so you can use up a large bunch of bags! Love the ebeanie, other people are so clever!

  14. Good luck with the scraps. Maybe you just need to make a heap of cards out of scraps till there is no scraps.. I do that just make a patchwork one if I have a few too many for where I keep them..
    Sandy 🙂 #25

  15. Excellent to see this workdesk an so nice to meet you !
    Have a good and creative rest of t he week!

    Invitation to take part on:
    ART-JOURNAL-JOURNEY
    MOO-MANIA-CHALLENGE

  16. It’s a bit like the good, the bad and the ugly! Love that storage idea, I used to use something like that at college, wish I’d accidentally brought some home with me when I left! I too am trying to sort all my papers and scraps, I fear it’s a long job.
    Well done on number 1 spot

    Jakix #85

  17. I cleared out all of my scraps this week, It hurt to do it lol but I gave them to the local Rainbow group. Love the kindle holder.

  18. Wow and I thought I’d got some sorting to do.
    That’s a huge pile of potential just waiting for you to start creating ;D
    Congrats on being number 1

  19. Oops forgot to leave my number ~ Happy WOYWW

    Neesie ♥ #24

  20. Whenever I organize, I have a mess! This isn’t bad though! I have seen worse and my room has been worse. I’m doing a little here and a little there!
    Glenda #96

  21. Wow organizing, please come to my house. I could really use you right now. #99

  22. Good luck with the sorting x sharon 105

  23. My desk is usually messy but I think you win this week. Great idea for paper storage – just wish I had more room.
    Ann B
    32

  24. those are at Staples? Wow, that might be perfect for my childrens art desk, I never would have thought to put them on their side but it releives the weight on the shelves I guess, nice! Happy WOYWW-Lindsay 101

  25. Hope the Dr’s trip goes well MA and you have the enthusiasm to tackle that pile of scraps when you get back. Like the idea of the storage files, cheap works for me too!

    Hugs
    Brenda 106

  26. If I were brave enough to show you more of my craftroom you’d see you’re not alone in the messy stakes! Hope all went well at the doc’s. Happy Wednesday. :o)
    Sue x (MiniOwner@104)

  27. You are so good to organize. I usually just throw all my scraps in a bin and they rarely get looked at by me again. So sad.
    Lori #84

  28. Love your desk though I dont envy your scrap sorting. The kit idea is great though, I may borrow that if that’s ok?

  29. Oh Wow you are going to be one very busy girl, but the satifaction when it is all done will be worth it.
    Ria #114

  30. Good Luck, Carruthers….I believe you may be some time sorting that little lot out! I’ll send a Rescue Dog with brandy if we don’t hear from you in a few days….grin!!
    Thanks for the heads up on that ipad beanbag…what a fab idea and so easy to make! I’m definitely going to have a go at those!!!
    Hugs, LLJ 38 xx

  31. Congrats on being number one! You and I must be on the same wave length. I’ve been organizing my papers too – but much differently. I must confess, I cut down my 12 x 12 to 6 x 6. I know all the scrapbooker’s are going to be appalled!

    Have fun looking through all your scrap paper. I have one piece of scrap that’s about 1 inch by 3 inch and it’s the last of one of my favorite papers. It makes me both joyful and sad when I see it!

    Happy WOYWW
    Hugs, Kay #123

  32. Congratulations! You’re number one and so many people will see that they’re not the only one with a messy desk! And yes, not shocking for WOYWW folks, LOL!

  33. It’s great to see how others organise their crafting stash. I’m constantly reorganising – maybe one day I’ll get it right to suit me! Love your pile of scraps. Linda #131

  34. I have two drawers of scraps like that- sortingh them is on my to-do list while I’m off work with my shoulder- was going to start today, but being WOYWW, and having to go for physio, it didn’t happen. Maybe tomorrow, lol.Have a great week, Hugs Shaz xx#65

  35. Well, well, well…it does look like you have your work cut out for you today! That’s what you get for being organized! lol ♥ waving hi from the soggy laden hills of North Carolina ☺

  36. We should get together, I’m not sure sometimes what I like better, the Paper Art or the Art of Organizing Paper! I blogged today about the same thing!! I like your idea of kits! Happy WOYWW!
    Ginny M

  37. You’re right, not shocking at all – won’t mention how many scraps I have but they definitely don’t all need to live here!! It’s on my list….Chris@89

  38. thanks so much for the chance you might manage to make a quilt… will post full info asap… not too big needed and simple patches. hope you can. love Jo x

  39. I like your paper organization idea – I am going to have to find those. And wow – you do have a very colorful scrap file. 🙂 April #141

  40. Oh wow what a scrap pile!! Great idea with the paper organisation 🙂

    Becky #147

  41. I’m feeling your pain, hun!!!!! HUGE, messy project of my own going on at my desk too. But it will be worth it when I’m done….or so I tell myself, lol!

    Jeannie #47

  42. It must be part of what we do….The last few months, I have been tossing out my scraps….it seems, that I really, never use them, or that it’s very rare. I have been keeping them while I am using that paper, then out it goes. So far, it’s been a stress reliever for me, because I kept trying to organize the scraps, a million ways….finally, someone said “jeesh, how much money do you think you have in those scraps” What do you think the “real estate” is worth in your room? That did it for me. So far, I have not cried….but it’s only been a few months…

  43. Not messy a’tall! Good idea for organizing the dp. Love the e reader holder below! Happy WOYWW! Nan 113

  44. Love the storage files, may have to invest in them. I like your thinking with the kit bags. I just seem to have scraps all over the place, never ever thinking i should throw the smallest scrap away. Hey the day mat come that i need a one inch square of paper. What on earth would i do if i had thrown it away…….
    Good luck with the sorting
    Nelle #152

  45. You truly are a dedicated scrapper. Some stash I’ve bought that goes together, I’ve kitted, but only in terms of at most a half dozen kits – to do it with everything? Wow!

    I’m off to have a look at this e-beanie Julia mentions…..

    Hope you have a good week!

  46. is this where scrap heap challenge comes from. good luck it looks like a job and a half
    janet

  47. Brilliant to sort by kit : D. And I’m needing to go to Staples soon I think. Now if I can just remember to put the reason why somewhere I can find it when I’m there lol. Happy WOYWW (on Friday). #155

  48. Love the storage of your kits – I have not shared my desk this week as too busy looking after a friends cattery – but even if my desk was on show I am afraid I am and OCD tidy crafter lol – Have a great week

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

