scrappystickyinkymess

Making my PL binder

4 Comments

I was so caught up in this I neglected to take many photos and the ones I did take aren’t as informative as they could be.  I’ll do my best to explain.

I mentioned in my last post about my cobbled together attempt at Project Life that I had stripped down a vinyl covered 3-ring binder to its essential parts.  You can see most of them (minus the ring assembly) here.

PLscrapbook

I found a bit of fabric that I had that I quite liked and laid the bits out on it to check the fit. So far so good.

I grabbed some super strong spray adhesive, meant to be used for creating things like a valance over curtains, so fabric friendly and strong.

PLscrapbook1

I sprayed a good coating of that on the boards and stuck them to the fabric.  Note the space between the cover, spine and back pieces!

No photo but I trimmed the fabric to about a 1/2 inch and tried to miter the corners.  DOH!  Had the corners been square it would have been fine, but they were rounded already.  That made the corners less than perfect.  I lined the inside of both covers with black cardstock – again, using the spray adhesive.

To add the ring part, I stuck some ribbon to either side of the cardboard the rings were firmly attached to, tucking it under the metal.

PLscrapbook2I thought I might be able to stitch-in-the-ditch for a more secure bond, but of course the covers were WAY to wide to fit in the machine (at least in mine) so I simply stuck the back of the ring assembly to the spine and then stuck the ribbon in the ditch and to the covers.  This is the hardest to explain with no photo.  Does seeing this help at all?

PLscrapbook4

The other ribbon, farther from the rings, is purely decorative on the cover:

PLscrapbook3

Now I am thinking that my t-shirt transfer paper art might be perfect to decorate the cover.  Still not sure.

So I am not sure if I will make Saturday my PL post day, like Monday was for the BIG CARDS last year.  I may have to see how it goes.  But so far, I have my opening spread and my album sorted so am feeling like I am on my way.  Now, I just have to take some photos – that was always going to be the hard part….

Also, I am not sure if the 2.5 x 3.5 size printables are useful to anyone else but me.  If you think they would be useful, comment.  I’ll add some of the ones I resized for myself if there is interest.

4 thoughts on “Making my PL binder

  1. WOW this is really cool. Thanks sooo much for the tut on making this one. I really like the way this looks and I think, it would be great to use the printables on it, and I for one would love to get them too. I already have an idea, I would like to try out to see, if it could work then.

  2. Wow that is fantastic hun, I’d thought of trying to achieve something ‘similar’ but in a different format. I’m loving your take on it – might get myself in gear to ‘catch up’ as it were!

  3. Good, I want to try that , never used glue in spray like that before, what’s a “valance” ?
    I’ll try it.

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

