scrappystickyinkymess

Last BIG CARD – Ace of Clubs

3 Comments

I did manage to follow thru with my final BIG CARD, my year-long project using approx. A4 size cards from a deck I got at Tiger.  I’ve not found a 2nd deck there, and had used one or two of them for other projects before I began so I do have a handful that are missing.  Not a big deal for me, as the goal of the project was to use them to try various techniques.  I had the idea to scan them and send them to one of those places that turn your art into a real, normal sized deck of cards but in the end, unless I manage to find another one, that won’t happen.  Still, the process was an interesting one.  Some of the techniques were ones I came up with, some were ones I read or saw someplace and some began with one idea and I expanded on it.  It’s been so much fun and such a learning experience.  I feel I have really tested my supplies and discovered a lot along the way.

I had the idea to shave crayons onto black cardstock and melt them with the iron.  I’ve done this in the past, on a layout for SI (actually, it was three things with crayons, but the layout was my favourite one) shown here:

crayononcard

The lacy edging was, if I recall, designed from a dingbat and cut on my old CraftRobo.

buffedcrayonI thought the crayon would be more vibrant on black, but the colour is actually quite sheer and the effect not as bold as I wanted. I based that on another layout from the article, where I drew a swirl with a template, coloured it in with crayon, then buffed the waxy crayon to a shine.  As you can see from the small layout (the only photo I have of it on hand) the colour is bright and bold on the black.  I hoped it would be so by shaving and melting.
Nope.

I just shaved the tips with a craft knife.  Poor misused crayons!

aceclubs5aceclubs

I think for the original I laid a bit of acetate over the crayon, melting it onto the cardstock, then rotating the acetate and melting the crayon still on it onto the cardstock as well.

For this I used a bit of freezer paper. It was interesting, I liked it, but not over the moon with it.

aceclubs1

But checkout the freezer paper! Jiminy!  I liked that A LOT.  Some off things happened.  First, the plasticy coating on the freezer paper melted away, leaving it more like paper and less …plastic. Next, some places the crayon lifted away, down to the white paper, so further melting left some bright patches. It’s very layered and with real depth.

aceclubs2

So, faced with two choices, which would you choose?

aceclubs3

The more I look at the black one, the more I like it for its subtle warmth, but in the end….

aceclubs4

I did smudge on some Black Soot DI, which actually worked better than I thought with the sheen off the freezer paper.  I wonder how it might work on canvas?  I bet it would be very cool.

So, I still want to wrap up my BIG CARDS and review what were some of my fave techniques, and go back to make sure I’ve tagged them all so if you click BIG CARDS you can see them all, but that will have to wait for another day.

If you have followed this over the last year, I hope you had fun with it and got some ideas for how to push your art supplies to the limit.  I think I did well in sharing the disasters, or where something went wrong, but don’t I always say I mess up so you don’t have to?

3 thoughts on “Last BIG CARD – Ace of Clubs

  1. Oh I’m loving the layouts that you’ve created and the usage of crayons, don’t think we’ve got any of those left in the house unfortunately. May I say a big thank you for all your fabulous printables, I’ve only just discovered them and am hoping that they might get me doing both project life and adding fabulous elements to my layouts!

  2. I have really enjoyed your Big Cards and the different techniques used for them. Absolutely fabulous. Also a big thank you for your printables. Very appreciated. Thanks again for being so very inspiring and thank you for sharing.

  3. That looks like messy fun! Which cards are you missing? And what size are they? My son bought a deck to make a fancy dress … Alice in Wonderland themed card “soldier”. There are loads left – perhaps we could fill your gaps??!!??

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

