scrappystickyinkymess

WOYWW 187 – a new year!

29 Comments

Hello all you WOYYWWers.  I have had a seriously poor showing the last couple of weeks but I am finally able to sit with the help of only OTC painkillers so be ready – I’m visiting YOU today!

I’ll start with my desk.  Oh the shame of it – clearing it getting ready to craft is the order of the day! It’s a bit like an archeological dig, my desk, with layers of stuff piled on the top of old debris.  I haven’t touched it in weeks.

woyww187

Shocking, isn’t it?  You can see not only the leftovers from pre-Christmas crafting but a couple of gifts piled on top – DH knows I love all things zombie and he went the extra mile (literally) to order me a couple of prints from an Australian site called Creepy Cute. Creepy AND cute. just my thing.  One is called HUG:

woyww187a

and the other is Monster Heads:

woyww187b

Love ’em both.  You can’t see it very well but on my small table too there is a set of foldable buildings – the bus station and a little bus is punched and folded.  That’s from a Polish site, I think. and may be useful as a pattern – I figure the buildings need a more scrappy treatment, don’t you agree?

Also on my desk is the little calendar, gosh, from  2010, from 3eyedbear, they of the Snorfs.

This is what he would look like cut and folded.  I adore his little curl!  The two boxes slip into his headspace and rotate so all the months can display.  The newer ones are cute too, but this guy just made me smile, so I may have to make a 2013 version of the calendar so I can use him this year.

I am still not feeling I want to tackle the final BIG CARD, nor have I settled on a year-long project for myself for 2013, but with luck something I am considering will work out.

So then, the happiest of WOYWW days to you and Happy New Year too!

29 thoughts on “WOYWW 187 – a new year!

  1. Happy Healthy New Year to you.

  2. Happy New Year to you too!

  3. Goodness, a year long project, that is some undertaking. Your desk looks a bit like mine! Happy New Year and Happy WOYWW, Anne x #7

  4. what fun goodies on your busy desk!! have fun making the calendar!
    wishing you all good things in 2013 and happy WOYWW :o)
    no. 14

  5. Busy desk! Looks like you have a lot of fun stuff to play with in the new year! Happy New Year! I look forward to seeing your posts in 2013! Vickie #17

  6. good to see you back, and glad you are getting more mobile! happy new year, hope it is a good one. Helen, 4

  7. Glad you are getting back on your feet, no rushing it though… take it slow!! Love that little calendar bot… if anyone can make him 2013 compliable I am sure you can!! Happy new Year Annette #23

  8. Glad to hear your back is improving! May it continue rapidly….
    Love the zombie prints, completely bonkers but fun!
    Happy new year! LLJ 31 xxxx

  9. Just popping in to say Hi. Hope the coming year is a good, creative and blessed one for you!
    Neil #36

  10. Glad to see you are up and about again OTC pain killers or not…what ever works in my opinion! Love the calendar idea. Mine desk is so clean I cant think! I need to back to the archeological dig…that works for me.

  11. Happy New Year. Your Desk looks great…nice and messy….I love messes (is that even a word?) like yours:)
    Silvia WOYWW#40

  12. You and the zombie stuff, makes me smile! I’ve enjoyed your big cards, I won’t what you can do that will specifically leave you space to play with all the ideas that flow from you once you get going? glad I’m not challenged to find you something! Good news about the back, but don’t over do it..the desk will wait. It may grow, but it will wait! we’ll miss you on Saturday, but it’s only one! Happy New Year. Xx

  13. What a busy desk you have this week! Happy New Year!
    Glenda #43

  14. Happy New Year to you. Sorry to read you have had problems with your back but its good to know that things are improving. Your zombie things are very unusual and I am intrigued to see what you do with them. Tracey R ±48

  15. Happy new year. Hope you are able to get back to some crafting soon – just pile all the stuff on the floor (that’s what I do when there isn’t any space left on the desk!!)
    Bernice #60

  16. What fab prints, but your desk looks very inviting to me! Happy New Year to you! Here’s hoping that 2013 is a super year for us all. Take care Zo xx 69

  17. So pleased to read you are on the mend, Mary Anne. Lots of lovely stuff to see on your post. Happy New Year and Happy Wednesday. :o)
    Sue x (MiniOwner@67)

  18. Glad to hear your pain is easing MA, hopefully you’ll be off all the pain killers in a short while and back to normal too. The desk can wait, sounds like it might be fun actually to see what you can dig out of it! Not so keen on zombies but those are fun prints to have! Hope 2013 is a good one for you and your family.

    Hugs
    Brenda 73

  19. just popped back to answer your question on my post – the numbers are in fact a stencil (Dyan Reavely of Art From the Heart, for Ranger.) the circles are a stencil too…

  20. A year long project?! Oh my! Love the square head calendar. Now that would be cool to make. And of course the zombie stuff is just too cool! New Year’s greetings! Nan 78

  21. I love your messy desk! 🙂 What creative zombie art, too. 🙂

  22. Happy Healthy 2013 wishes Mary Anne! After your pre Christmas traumas you are well excused the state of your desk and I know too well whatever it’s state you will soon be producing gems for us all to share.
    lots of love Jo x

  23. What a wonderful desk. I love that you call it an archeological dig; very evocative. My desk might look good today, but it won’t last! I too have a new project, although as it involves reading 100 books as well as crafting, it will take a lot longer an a year! Looking forward to seeing what you decide to do in 2013.

    Happy WOYWW,
    Love Rachel, #6

  24. Fanastic desk those creepy cute guys look like so much fun and your calender it just makes you smile Happy New year and have fun cleaning 🙂 hugs Nikki #2

  25. Hi Mary Anne. Happy New Year and how good that your back is improving. I have some fellow feeling about back pain which might not be related to your problems, but it sure is hard to deal with.
    Not sure about the creepy guys. I don’t feel much affinity with zombies but there you go. Great photo of your desk which has been interesting to look at so thanks for sharing.

    Hope the year treats you well in 2013.
    Ros. #125

  26. Loving the archeological dig reference to the desk – so true of so many of us, I bet, with piles of ignored-Christmas stuff! Hope you find some good fossils to inspire you for 2013. Happy New Year and happy WOYWW, Deb # 131

  27. Hi Mary Ann
    looks like deep pile crafting going on there, I wonder what the archeologists (spelling?) will think of it all in 200 years time.
    I am planning on going to the crop on Saturday so maybe see you there
    janet #22

  28. Oooh – love that little calendar chap 🙂
    I love Zombies and horror stuff too – I have been on DT for 3 ‘darker side’ sites for a coupla’ years…. great fun 😀
    Happy New Year
    IKE xx WOYWW *86

  29. I have had a really good wander through some of your later posts too, and I love what you have done with those wax crayons. It is very similar to the results you can get with the Derwent Art Bars. Hope your back is really beginning to settle down and you can get back to more crafting. I have a set of Fiskars shaped scissors, specially designe for cutting corners into different shapes, and they need the foil trick for sharpening too. Have a good week. xx Maggie #45

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

