scrappystickyinkymess

SDC78 – non-traditional Christmas card

6 Comments

This marks a departure for me in the SDC Challenge.  I have ALWAYS used a Stampotique stamp in the past but this time as soon as I saw the challenge I knew exactly what I wanted to do.

SDC78

I’ve had this Three Stooges stamp for maybe 10 years and never really found a use for it.  It was perfect for the challenge.  I could have used three of the Stampotique boys but I went a different way.   Not world-class Copic colouring, I’m afraid, but I did like the dotty background.  I used that in a very old post once before, although that was more of a shaded gradation of colour, darkest near the image and fading outward, where this is more just a scattering of yellows to fill in.  I didn’t want to cut out the Stooges, or fiddle with masks, and no other technique made sense. I like t and would use it again, I think.

SDC78a

I love the font for the letters (Urban  Scrawl Boxed) – I printed that then coloured in the boxes with the Copics and cut out each letter.  It was a struggle to fit it all in LOL! The star is a leftover from DDs Christmas cards for her classmates.  I matched it with a very Christmas-y paper because I liked the contrast.

So the Snorfs from yesterday will have to wait a day longer then I’ll share my project.  I’ve had another idea for the end result so the delay is good.

6 thoughts on “SDC78 – non-traditional Christmas card

  1. Such a laugh! Shame they weren’t wearing football scarves then they could be 3 Kings of “Leyton” Orient! Great card!
    Jo x

  2. Your card made me LOL! So much fun.
    Happy WOYWW!
    Tertia #11

  3. This is so funny, and I love your dotty background. Thank you for joining in with us at Stampotique Designers challenge. Sue xx

  4. Ha ha ha…
    Thanks I needed that.
    Thank you for joining us this week at Stampotique Designers Challenge.
    xx
    Sarinda

  5. It was worth the wait to use the stamp!! Thanks for joining us again at Stampotique and thanks for the name of the font, it’s waiting on download now!

  6. OMG, this is hilarious. My Dad would love this! Thanks for joining us at Stampotique Designer’s Challenge this week.

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

