scrappystickyinkymess

Christmas Card and Pan Pastel technique

1 Comment

I was playing with my Pan Pastels and embossing ink, and it occurred to me that old techniques might actually work quite well with them so I had a go.

I grabbed a few things from my chaotic space – clean up is the order of the day as soon as I get this posted!  Shocking, it is.

Embossing ink, pastels, a scrunch of cling film/Saran wrap and paper. I think you see where this is going….

PPcardTry to get as much of the edges of the cling film out, and not so much large flat areas.

PPcard2

Tamp the wad of cling film on the embossing ink pad then stamp on the cardstock.  Scatter the areas at this point.  Then with a light touch pat on the Pan Pastel.  Once the areas grab the pastels you can rub, but lightly. It’s actually pretty cool at this point – a great art journal first layer.

PPcard3

But carry on.  Tamp on some more embossing ink, filling it some of the open areas, and add a darker shade of pastel.  You can do as many layers as you like.

PPcard4

I tend to try to leave a few white areas then do a last fill-in with the light colour again, so it really shows.

PPcard5

I would perhaps normally stop there but I have been told that people like techniques, sure, but what prompts them to give it a go more is an actual finished project they can see.  So I’ll carry on.  I printed a couple of my printable toppers. They were OK on the background but they needed something to tie them in a bit better.  So I punched a smaller circle and laid that over the printed one and smudged the pastels in just that area.

PPcard7

It does dull the text slightly but not as much as you might expect.

PPcard8

I embossed a swirl on the bottom of the first piece and brayered over some embossing ink, then heat embossed with glitter embossing powder.

PPcard6

Trim to fit your card front and pop the circle.

PPcard9

Simple but effective, I hope.  I think the pan pastels over text is a trick to play with more.  I want to try brushing over it with an ear bud/Q-tip to see if that brings back the crisp intensity of the printed text a bit more.  Also I am interested to see what happens if I print with a light shade then do the pastels over it – will it make the text just a darker version?  Ans how can I use that as an arty technique?

I think this could be quite cool as an ATC background and I def. have to have a play with assorted colours rather than the monochromatic version.

Have a go.  It’s easy peasy.

One thought on “Christmas Card and Pan Pastel technique

  1. Beautiful card. Have a blessed week. LisaDV #86

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

