scrappystickyinkymess

WOYWW 182 – Pan Pastels

26 Comments

Hello all you WOYWW-ers!  I have been playing with my Pan Pastels, a bit.  Probably wasteful but I just can’t help but try to push the boundaries of my supplies so it’s all about the experimentation for me.  I have a load of ideas I want to test out, but what is on my W this W is my attempts with the pastels on black card.

My first attempt is hiding under the glare off the stamp mount. It’s not perfect, very much needs refining, but the play has pointed out some potential techniques that I can explore further, and that is my plan for today.  I’ll be glued to my desk  while I await the courier with mine and DDs new passports. My desk overlooks the drive so I should have no trouble catching them as they arrive….unless I get too engrossed in my craftyness.

It is perhaps too “dusty” but I have an idea for sorting that – we’ll see if it works! The colour has an almost suede-like look to it that I like.  What amazes me is how well the pastels pick up the fine details – check out the little row of dots around the centre diamond on the homemade stamp (the green image) for what I mean.  It could be quite interesting.

So, time for you to hop on.  Be sure to pop to Julia‘s for the whole Mr Linky list and see what is going on, creatively, on workdesks around the world…..

26 thoughts on “WOYWW 182 – Pan Pastels

  1. great looking first try! Isn’t there a fixative that will take care of the dustiness? I haven’t gotten into the Pan Pastels cause I have so much of everything else and had to draw the line. I love all the pastels I use and I fix them with hair spray! Thanks for sharing and I hope you have a great week. Vickie #3

  2. Oooh they are looking lovely – I havent played with pan pastels (mainly because if I do I will need them in every colour available and I cant afford that!) – have a lovely play day. Thanks for sharing – Sunshine Girl #25

  3. Never tried Pan Pastels – there’s so much out there to try, isn’t there. I never seem to have the time to spend experimenting as much as I would like to…perhaps one day. I’ve used your printables this week to make a batch load of Christmas Cards – thank you so much for sharing these, they made up into cards just great!
    Sue

  4. Oh, I love pan pastels and think you’re doing just fine.. I don’t normally seal mine, they are meant not to need fixing. Have fun and I hope you catch your passports!!! Helen, 8

  5. Love that mandala type stamp! I’m a sucker for those sorts of patterns…..
    And those JOY lights from your previous posts are inspired – they’re soo effective. I love ’em!!
    Hugs, LLJ #32 xx

  6. I love what your working on, sadly I don’t have any Pan Pastels. Enjoy your Day. Hugs Rita xx

  7. Good morning, Mary Anne! Your experimenting seems to be going well. The green pattern is lovely. Just read your previous post, too. The tea lights are beautiful. Happy Wednesday. :o)
    Sue x (MiniOwner@41)

  8. I think they look good, Ive never tried Pan Pastels but have seen them demo’d a few times and thought how nice they look so think you are doing really well for a first time. Hope the courier comes nice and early for you 🙂

    Happy WOYWW
    Lou #52

  9. Ooh look at those colours! I have only blue and white but can’t seem to get the hang of them yet. Think I need better sponge things to apply them with. Seems you’re getting the hang of it though, looks fab!! Hope your passports arrive safely. I have coffee & I’m off to snoop! Take care Zo xx 45

  10. I have tried Pan Pastels and I like the look of them, what is not that nice is that you have to use fixative which I am not exactly fond of – too much hassle! I do use them occasionally but not a really big fan! I was charmed by Donna Downey to buy them!
    Hope you find a good use for them!
    Lots of hugs,
    Cardarian

  11. I’ve been interested in pan pastels for a while but they aren’t easily available over here. (Aust). The colours are so lovely and the fine detail possible is remarkable – interested to see this in your ‘play’. Thanks.
    Ros. #57

  12. Love the pastels. Have fun.
    Hugs,
    A x #42
    ps I’m hoping you will ‘like’ me [check out my blog for more info]

  13. Haven’t venture in PPs yet but every time I see them used I’m tempted… just like now!
    Thanks for your comment… I’m waiting to leave for the airport just now and I hate this bit so I’m hopping round a few desks.
    Jo x
    ps…EARLY WARNING! to your ? I WILL be doing another swap with a different theme next year as this one is going so well.

  14. Pan Pastels really seem to be the ‘in’ thing Jacqui #79

  15. Lovely experiments… I haven’t tried PPs yet either, but I love the look of what people achieve with them… more temptation here! Happy WOYWW!
    Alison x
    #79

  16. Oh they look lovely. I have never heard of Pan Pastels since a few weeks ago and keep wondering what makes them special. Mind you I am only relearning Paper crafts so there is plenty of Time yet.
    Happy WOYWW
    Silvia #58

  17. We’ve yet to try pan pastels, but then we’ve only just discovered distress stains, we’re a bit behind the times. Your experiments turned out so well though that pan pastels have joined our ever growing shopping list!!

  18. Pan Pastels seem to be quite the thing at the moment! The new promakers some might say?
    It’s fun to experiment though, isn’t it?

    Take care

    Jakix #69

  19. I always get so sidetracked looking at your blog MA, as I have to scroll down and read every post since I was last here! Love all the calendar printables, the Christmas trees too but especially love the stamps made with the Spellbinder dies. Haven’t tried Pan Pastels but I’m sure you’ll master them.

    Hugs
    Brenda 94

  20. Ooh it looks soooo interesting, thanks for sharing! Have a great week!

    #17

    Apryl

  21. I hope you share what you learn in your pan pastel experiment. I love your homemade stamp. I totally thought it was store bought.
    LisaDV #111

  22. I amnot getting into these. I’m not. So don’t you dare do wondrous stuff that makes me have to have them. They are lovely..I like the sound of the sort of suedy finish very much.

  23. These are beautiful!! love pastels! I don’t ahve any of the pan type, this inspires me to correct that problem!
    Have a great week!
    Ginny

  24. I have pastels but I never really think about using them, in the past, maybe…must have a go when I get home this week end! They do look very inspiring!! Thanks for my snoop!Happy Very late woyww ((Lyn)) #28

    Ps This weeks freebie mouse is here

  25. ohoo! another comment gone missing! It asks me to log in and every time I do, it says my password is wrong when its not! so of course everything I type disappears, sometimes I don’t notice! so I’m sooo sorry to be so late this week. I do have some pastels so must get them out again, you’ve given me some new ideas!
    Thanks for my snoop!Happy Very late woyww ((Lyn)) #28

    Ps This weeks freebie mouse is here

  26. Love the look of those pastels and still trying to justify to myself the outlay that buying several sets would mean … maybe, eventually 🙂 Hope the passports arrived safe and sound. The card your follower has made is, indeed, stunning and I just love the creature that was made from a child’s drawing – terrific. I’m still making my late way round WOYWW land but enjoying seeing all the ‘workdesks’. Hope you are having a lovely weekend. Elizabeth x #67

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

