scrappystickyinkymess

SDC75 – paint

8 Comments

Managed to finish the SDC for the week – paint!

I chose the theme for this week’s challenge in honor of my amazing grandmother. She can paint with any medium, and so can you – acrylics, watercolors, daubers, whatever your little heart desires. Just use same sort of PAINT on your project this week!

So the interpretation of PAINT is quite broad, thank goodness, and I was able to try our a few things that I think work well and a couple that work less well.

Here is the card front:

The “paint” I used was the Distress Stain daubers, and a little black acrylic paint.  The background is dauber splats (you know, just thumping the sponge tip down on the paper with FORCE to make a splat!), the black circles are an old lid dipped in black paint, and the number strip and the girl are both made by using the dauber directly onto the stamp.

The girl had most of the surface daubed with Vintage Photo (except her lips, which was, unsurprisingly, Worn Lipstick) then stamped.  I let is dry, a bit, then used a water brush to spread the colour into the white areas.  I added a smidge of Antique linen to the brush to do her face.

I thought it turned out great, so then tried to do a second head, to complete my card idea, using a mix of Mustard Seed and Vintage photo on the stamp.  Not so good a result, but just about acceptable:

I think the yellow dauber was maybe too wet, because I tried doing the brown first than LIGHTLY touching over it with the yellow, aiming to get the brown lines, but the yellow just ran, a bit.  I think a better method might have been to do the brown, let it mostly dry, then paint ever so lightly with the yellow.  But as I always say, I make the mistakes so you don’t have to, and not showing the first attempt is disingenuous.

As you can see it is an easel card.  The send figure is inside, but appears to be on the front once you engage the easel effect.  I also think, had I had my wits about me and slightly smaller stamps (or maybe a bigger circle) I would have made it SO THANKFUL so it became a THANKSGIVING card instead.  Hindsight is always 20/20 isn’t it?

Man, I so need some new Stampotique stamps…. Is Santa reading?

8 thoughts on “SDC75 – paint

  1. That is a really super card. Really quirky and fun in subject and composition. Very effective!
    Jo x

  2. Really fun card! Thanks for joining us at Stampotique. XOXO

  3. Love the splats of color…very nice!

  4. Love those splats on this fab card. Good luck with Santa 😉 Thanks for joining us again at Stampotique.

  5. Splats are one of my favs…. wonderful job. Thank you for joining us at Stampotique Designer’s Challenge… Best Sarinda

  6. Love this – such a sweet idea for a card! And now I’m singing that song… one is the loneliest number that you’ll ever have… hmm hmm hmm… LOL! Thanks for joining us at the Stampotique Designer’s Challenge.

  7. Oh my! I’m definitely going to have to try that as I never use my distress stain daubers but love how this looks! Thanks for joining us at Stampotique Designer’s Challenge this week.

  8. I love how you splatted your distress stains. I immediately thought about the daubers my preschool use (they ALWAYS splat them – so much more fun that way as the paint flies). Great color choices too.

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

