scrappystickyinkymess

D-lites stamps

10 Comments

OK, so based on the comments I’ve gotten an emails received, I am not the only person who is struggling to cut some of the Spellbinders D-Lites dies.  So this post is likely going to come out of left field, but trust me when I say that I had less trouble making these stamps with Fun Foam than I did cutting the D-Lites out of cardstock!

There is nothing I had to do to accomplish this – standard sandwich of base plate and cutting plate, no shim,  Grand Calibur.  Now, NORMALLY I would cut the sticky backed fun foam but a. I didn’t have any on hand and b. as it is paper-backed, I feared I would have the SAME problem I had with cutting cardstock.  The un-sticky foam has issues but I’ll try to address them.

1. Just cut the die as normal out of Fun Foam

2. Once you have the motif, sort of flex it.  You will see some of the bigger bits pop up – just flick them out.

3. Any last tiny or tricky bits you can poke out with a pokey tool – on this one it was just that small circle of tiny bits…

…but they came out easy for a prefect final piece. I used glue to stick it to a mount.

Usually I would use clear acrylic packaging for the mounts of my home-made stamps, as it is see-thru, but I seem to have run out!  I think your options for sticking are:

  1. glue – messy, and it will ooze up unless you get a really thin coating (plus brushing it on can distort the die cut, if you are too vigorous
  2. Xyron – if I would have had a full cartridge for the machine large enough to take the dies, this would have been my choice
  3. Letratac sticky dots – not the first choice, but what I had on hand

Let me give you an overview of the ones I have done:

The trickiest part was getting the long one straight, but this helped

No matter what you use to mount them, these are never going to stand up to the vigorous cleaning you may be used to, but my method works for most inks, with some caveats! I’ll explain as I show the various ink results.

1. Distress ink

Now, to clean it.  Lay a baby wipe over the top and brayer over it!  Easy peasy.

Totally clean!

You will need to do this pretty sharpish – I don’t know how clean it will be if you let the ink dry on the stamp for some of the inks.  And as the stamp will then be damp, you will need to either put a paper towel over and brayer again to dry it, or let it dry before re-inking.

2. Adirondack Ink – also cleans up totally

3. Chalk ink – also cleans up totally

4. Pigment ink – also cleans up totally and you can emboss with powders!

5. Clearly Better (and I assume Memento or Versafine too) – does NOT clean perfectly

6. Finally, Distress Stain and Twinkling h2Os – cleans totally, but the h2Os lose their twinkle

And finally, because your stamp is made from the die, you can cut the stamped image out using the frame part of the die!  Nice.

So there you go.  If I can find some sticky backed fun foam I’ll give that a go, but am not optimistic about it working.

I have 90% finished both my WOYWW project AND my Stampotique Designer’s Challenge but got so sidetracked by THIS I set them aside momentarily.  It was actually the SDC challenge of using paint that sparked the idea for these stamps, but in the end I didnt;t actually ise them for the challenge!  I’ll get back to them today and hopefully finish both.

10 thoughts on “D-lites stamps

  1. Wow this is so cool……now u making me want those dies..lol

    Thanks for sharing
    Hugz
    Shamela

  2. Very clever but you are naughty – have resisted buying too many dies – until now.
    Thanks
    Ann B
    xx

  3. Thank you for a great idea for other dies I have. I found fun foam works so well for so many things and it cuts like a dream in the Cricut. The fun foam is sometimes thick enough that a person doesn’t have to use pop dots for the dimension.
    Myrna

  4. Amazing designs and dyes. Now, if only i could find craft foam in my area. Keep up the great work, and thanks for the tutorial! x

  5. I hate the word “super cool!” , but this is “SUPER COOL!!!!!”

  6. Fantastic idea and I have a draw with some foam in it…might even have some sticky stuff – will have to give it a try – thank you 🙂

  7. This blog post is featured in today’s SCS newsletter, congrats! I have used my steel-ruled Sizzix dies to cut fun foam but I’ve not used any of my Spellbinders dies to cut same. I only have a small collection of nesties and borderbilities. I plan to try to cut some of those to see if/how those will work. Thanks for the cutting tips, as well as, the baby wipe/brayer cleaning tip. I had been using water in a mister bottle w/a rag. It left the foam stained but otherwise clean enough to stamp the next image w/o “muddying” it. 🙂

  8. SUPER IDEA!!!!! I haven’t gotten any of the D- Lites dies but, was thinking about it! So SAD they don’t work well! Your idea is FABULOUS though! JUST THINK of the possibilities with OTHER DIES TOO!!!!!!!!! 🙂

  9. Thank yo for taking the time to share this very through exploration of the ins and outs of making stamps from die cuts. I still haven’t tried this technique, but have thought about giving a whorl. I was going to use one of my double sided adhesives ( with at least one peal-off paper side) to back the foam before cutting. I have a roll of wide (2″) 3M rubber cement tape (bet they don’t make it any more), and I recently got what I thought was sticky backed fun foam, but it is a “Silhouette double-sided adhesive sheets”, and I expect those to work perfectly. (I ordered them from Walmart or Amazon, and an 8.5″X11″ sheet works out to approx. 70cents each.)

    Thanks again for all your efforts on this topic. I will be repining this since that is how I found you.

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

