scrappystickyinkymess

WOYWW 180 – MouseCam

30 Comments

Well, there is absolutely nothing crafty on my desk today as I am quite possibly sitting at the US Embassy in London, getting my passport renewal forms (and DDs) in process.  They take way all your technology when you enter, so no phone, no iPad, no laptop, no Kindle, but a good old-fashioned book will keep me busy.  I am hoping it won’t take hours, but really, who knows? Funnily enough it always comes down to the photos.  The UK size is different to the US one and finding a photographer who can sort out the exact specs and produce a photo the Embassy won’t reject is always a challenge.

It’s entirely likely I won’t even manage to add my link to WOYWW today, as we are staying in a hotel near the Embassy and I expect the family will be less than impressed if I stay up watching TV or reading till the WOYWW post time, but on the off-chance that someone drops by I’ll just add this:

What the heck is that, you ask? Well, that is the camera view from the security cameras.  Lovely shot of the patio, with my drying rack sitting in the middle of it, and a shot out across the back yard, the front door, and the big view down the driveway.  DH watches the cameras over the internet and half the time as soon as someone pulls up, like a delivery van, the phone rings – it’s him wanting to know who is at the door!

But the last view was a surprise to me.  I spotted it on my monitor the other day and I just could not figure out what it was!  Usually that upper left frame is near enough the same as the big one, as the two cameras point the same way.  But the one went blank last week, and DH spent  Saturday trying to de-bug it.  When he couldn’t, apparently he hooked it up and put it in the loft – as you may recall we have had a few mice in the house after the harvest, and with the colder weather.  We’ve had the pest controller around, but he thought we might catch some movement on the camera to let us know the mice are still in residence.  so far, no glowing eyes or furry bodies.  Let’s hope it stays that way!

So there you go – a pretty unorthodox WOYWW this week, but it’s the best I can do! I’ll pop round after the opening evening tonight at the local college to check it out as a possible next-step for DD, or tomorrow.  Trapped in all day awaiting the dryer repair guy – yes, the BRAND NEW DRYER is making a thumping noise that is driving me MAD so we are trying to get it sorted.  Thank goodness we didn’t buy it from Comet…..

30 thoughts on “WOYWW 180 – MouseCam

  1. Good luck at the Embassy and happy WOYWW!
    Alison x
    #4

  2. LOL – don’t envy you the day at the Embassy! Good luck with that.

    I had to chuckle at your loft shot – I thought that’s what it was when I first saw it and was going to ask if you generally had a problem with insulation thieves in your area….LOL….

    Morti #5

  3. oh I love that your husband calls right away when someone pulls in!!!! talk about security!!!! Happy WOYWW!!!!

  4. That looks like a great security setup! Travel safely! Happy WOYWW! Sandy Leigh #6

  5. Great loft picture, wWe should get one, we have mice too. Good luck with embassy
    FAMFA (19)

  6. oh so , no mouses in the houses! (we get slugs…don’t ask me how! I’ve named them, they come back so often! When I first saw your post I thought…you had a camera strapped to a mouse!!..(just to see what it got up to all day! Have great week, thanks for my snoop!! Happy wOyWw
    ((Lyn)) hugs! #21

  7. hmmm, do you have the Maytag Repair Man in England? Good luck, hopeful it is just a bad belt and nothing expensive! Happy WOYWW! Lindsay #29

  8. Love the security shots. What a man you have got. Looking out for your safety. Good luch with the passport. # @2

  9. oh how funny, a mouse cam! hope the wait at the embassy isn’t too long!

  10. Oh yes, good luck at the Embassy! We’re having dryer issues here, too, but mine is several years old–guess what? Did a google search to diagnose the problem, and then found a youtube video showing how to fix it! The part was only $20, how amazing is that?

  11. Gotta giggle at the mouse cam! I have one here that DD and SIL set up when we were gone on vacation and didn’t bother to tell me. I thought DD was psychic when she called to tell me I wasn’t sitting very ladylike on the sofa and was exposing myself!!! OMG! What is this world coming to? Hope you got your passport sorted out. I got mine back a week after I sent in the renewal. I know something just isn’t right if it doesn’t take 6 weeks! Hope you have a great week. Vickie #63

  12. Hope you got your dryer problems fixed. Sometimes it just may not be level. Hopefully it’s something minor.
    Here’s a tip for those of you who get mice in the house. Go get you some course steel wool;the courser the better.
    Now, tearing off small pieces at a time, pack it around your pipes that come into the house. Those under the kitchen sink, bathroom etc. Just keep tearing off pieces, pack down tight and keep doing that till you can’t back anymore in around the pipes.

  13. Well, you win the prize for the most alternative desk this week!!! Are we sad for actually quite enjoying looking at someone else’s security camera shots? Voyeurism rules ok!
    Hope the passport process ran smoothly.
    Hugs, LLJ #68 xx

  14. Happy WOYWW. Hope you don’t have to sit at the Embassy for too long. Interesting security shots – but would have been better to have seen a cute mouse! Ali x #72

  15. Hope the Embassy trip is not too painful. You not only managed to link, you have the number 2 spot. Quite impressive I would say! Pity you did not get a shot of the mouse.
    Happy WOYWW
    Tertia#40

  16. Well that’s a first for WOYWW – Mouse Cam!! Good luck in the queue at the Embassy, hope you don’t have to wait all day without technology, and that the book is good! Helen, 3

  17. Only you two would have a mouse cam! And look at that loft space…wow! A day at the Embassy for passports..wow, lucky you don’t live any more miles from London – does it have to be done in person? (Not as stupid as it sounds, I’ve only ever made postal applications, so I don’t know if you HAVE to do it…)

  18. Huh! I have that passport renewal coming up too….not much fun I guess! Ha, ha mouse cam….well you certainly are hooked up to a lot of technology….I seem to still live in the dark ages….still I am quite happy! Don’t like all that Big brother watching you business!
    Lots of hugs,
    Cardarian

  19. Phew – no mice yet then? BJ#37

  20. Good morning! I guess you are deep in your book at the embassy right now? Hope it’s not too long a wait and your photos pass muster. My first attempts were rejected but I managed to get them accepted second time – I did a LO of the experience! Looking forward to seeing your work desk next week. Happy Wednesday. :o)
    Sue x (MiniOwner @85)

  21. Hope all goes well at the embassy! Sounds scary to me. No desk from me either, am busy sorting my stash and packing clothes for a weekend away meeting up with my fellow Crafty Boots DT. But I wanted to pop by and say hello anyway and of course have a nose at your desk but instead I got camera shots, still cool though!! Take care Zo xx

  22. Love it, good job we don’t have cameras here monitoring the door hubby will always be on the phone LOL

    Hope day at embassy ok and not waiting too long.

    Happy WOYWW

    Lou #87

  23. Hi Mary Ann – your post made me chuckle – we are a dedicated lot! This is definitely a first for WOYWW I assume. Glad your undies weren’t on the drier 😉 It looks as miserable (weather wise) in you neck of the woods as it is here!! Crafting weather. Happy WOYWW to you from Helen 30

  24. Eeewww you have to go in person to renew your passport?! Oops that reminds me I better check the expiration on mine! What a hoot a Mouse cam! Got’ta love it! Hope the rest of your week goes better for you. Nan 103

  25. HOPE ALL GOES WELL FOR YOU, HOPE YOU HAVE A GOOD WEEK
    Jackie 58

  26. Sounds like a lot of hassle you’re having one way and another! Hope everything gets sorted soon, Chris 104

  27. Fun Pics. TFS! You have a Super Hubby, you lucky Lady. Good Luck at the embassy.
    Hugs, Dangina

  28. LOL. Love the loft security camera! 🙂 Maybe your DH could set up an intercom system so that he can check who’s at the door before you answer it?!! 😀
    Can I ask where you got your photo’s from in the end? My son is applying for a K Visa for the US and needs photo’s obviously. No-one locally will/can do them the right size – they look at me like I have two heads; Nope! Just a son needing US passport sized photo’s! The annoying thing is that he was over there 6 weeks ago and didn’t even think to get them done while he was there….. sons!!!! 🙂 Thank you.
    Hope everything went OK for you and your DD today?
    Jude.x

    • We got ours from our local Jessops. They were able to do the right size, but we took in the photo info from the Embassy website so they could match it. If not, Goulds Pharmacy, which is also where you an store your electronics, does photos and it’s right up the street.
      Hth

      Mary Anne

  29. Oh my word, I can’t imagine being so worried about security, but I know it’s necessary in places. What are we doing to ourselves!?!
    Hope you managed the Embassy challenges okay – I mean, it’s Sunday here and I hope you’re not still waiting but some stories I’ve heard make me wonder – LOL.
    Take care, and I’m looking to your return to the art desk.
    Ros. #94.

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

