scrappystickyinkymess

Embossed Card

2 Comments

I’ve seen a couple of samples (on probably Pinterest, but can I find them now? NO) of cards that have been paper-pieced and then embossed.  I don’t even know what it’s called to look for it! Anyway, I didn’t have time to properly sort out projects for the crop on Saturday so I just jammed a few things in my crop bag and planned on playing when I got there.  I had a vague idea of how it worked, but may have gone badly wrong.  The first one I tried was a stamped holly sprig.  I stamped all the bits in different colours, cut them out, and attached them to the card then embossed.  I *think* most of the samples I’ve seen all used the same cross-hatch embossing folder, which I don’t have this one worked OK.

and a closer view, so you can see they are all cut out:

so then I used some scraps and one of Julia’s dies to make this version:

I really liked it with the ornament die, even if I did have it the wrong way round in the folder!

When I got home, I wanted to have another go with a swirly folder I knew I had, but…no die! So I quickly made myself a little SVG file.

I did a test cut on white card so I could see where to put the bits, then laid on all the scraps to cut again.

And cut. I was using scraps and wasn’t sure if it would all work out, so the colours aren’t perfect but they are certainly good enough for a test-card.

 

After inking the edges, and building the card front I went to emboss it only to realize that a 4 x 6 card front is actually too big to fit the Cuttlebug folders.  Grrrrr. I used 4 of the 5 hole-y strips to make the tree but on a bigger card front I could use all 5.

I opted to leave the un-embossed bit at the bottom and disguised it with a bit of ribbon.

I rather like it, although a brighter green, if I had a scrap that was usable, would have been better. I have a bit of an idea I want to play with that I may be able to share tomorrow, if it works.

And DOH! that I can’t add an svg to download.

2 thoughts on “Embossed Card

  1. How did you attach the holly sprig? Pop dots???? I love the last Christmas tree card. Too bad about the SVG file.

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

