scrappystickyinkymess

Embossed Embossing

9 Comments

You may remember my glitter highlight card.  Well, I was considering that and thinking of a way to update it and my eye fell on my drawer full of WOW embossing powders.  I love them because they are so fine and the colours just wonderful.  I have one called Clear Gold Highlight that I really like but haven’t found the right project for it.  Now I have!It is not really much different to the brayer-on-glitter-gel technique except perhaps less messy and a step more.  Here is what you do –
Emboss your cardstock.  as with the glitter gel you want a nice overall pattern, not one that has bug gaps.  You want to use a good weight cardstock, so the embossing is quite deep.  I would say smooth card is best, too, rather than textured.
Now load your brayer with Versamark, or other clear embossing ink.  Try to hit just the high points – you can do this easily working on a hard surface, or by leaving the card IN the folder, so the high points are supported by the folder and stay rigid.
Sprinkle on the embossing powder.  You should get it clinging to the raised bit, but if you do get a smidge in the dips either don’t worry about it and call it grunge (and later you will see a way to mask this a bit more) or whisk away the worst of it with a little fine tip paintbrush.  Heat emboss. Cool, hummm?
Check out the sparkle on that gold highlight powder!Now, about the hiding of stray glitter.  Since it is embossed and the powder set, you can smudge over it all with Distress ink than lightly buff the embossed part to bring back the shine.
This Olive is matt, rather than super-shiny – love that look.
and now to tie it all n with my printables (keep in mind the embossing folders don’t QUITE fit a 4 x 6 card blank – you can add a mat to make up the difference or, as with the Santa-suit card, split the piece and mask the gap with a strip of cardstock or ribbon) :
This one has no DI added, and I did think (as I type) that a spritz of some pale glimmer mist over all might look quite pretty.  Have to give that a go ….

9 thoughts on “Embossed Embossing

  1. Pingback: Christmas printables and glitter technique | Scrappy Sticky Inky Mess

  2. Hi
    Great tutorial !!!!!!
    Lovely cards.
    Myrna

  3. Howdy,
    Great embossing tutorial and pretty cards. Would love for you to visit my WOYWWY desk this week when you have a moment or 2.

    Peace,
    LuLu
    http://lulu-too-beaucoup.blogspot.com/2012/09/woyww-09192012-haul-and-wow-ee-zow-ee.html

  4. Hi, what is exactly your brayer? I’m seaching for it on french (because i’m french 😉 webmerchand and i don’t find anything. Could you tell me more about it? Thxs

  5. This is fantastic!! I saw your previous post with glitter glue, but I like this one even better. I have a lot more colors of embossing powders and this is a great way to use them. Thank you for teaching me!!

  6. both the glitter glue technique and this one are ace! Thank you 🙂

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

