scrappystickyinkymess

Christmas Cards from my printables

3 Comments

I only had time to make one original card but I’ve tried to show some others that are based on previous cards I’ve made, just to give you an idea or two – I was aiming for quick and easy, as ever.

First, one that is by no means a new Idea – I’ve seen 100 variation of the Santa-suit, as cards, tags, and even scrapbook pages.  But it is simple to make and looks cute.

All you need is a 6 x 4 card blank, a bit of red cardstock the same, and a strip of black and say 2 x 2 inch scrap.

I first stamped all over the red with a small pattern, then embossed it, but you could certainly streamline the process by just using plain red card. I also embossed the 1 inch strip of black, again, just for some extra texture but not a requirement.

Cut the scrap to about 1 x 1 3/4, round the corners and cut out the middle to leave a buckle-shape.  Swipe it with Versamark and emboss with gold.  Again, streamline by cutting the shape from gold card.

The standard embossing folder is not tall enough to cover the card from, so I sliced it across and used the belt to cover the gap.

Assemble it.  Easy peasy. Most of the topper circles would work with this design.

The blue snow-related ones work well with the glitter-highlighted card,

You could even go over some of the printed snowflakes with some blue Stickles to make it really sparkle.

Change the paper on this card and the ribbon colour and you can use some of them on it.

Cutting the Cheery Lynn die differently could make something a bit like a poinsettia, but that is probably too much work for  mass-production.

For the most basic card, easy and economical, just do this sketch – it is the most basic of layering but you can tart it up in lots of ways.

I have my BIG CARD nearly done for today, but rather than have this post wait a day, I thought I would add it first, then carry on with the card and add it later.  I also have another idea for the printables that I need to work out.

Laters…..

Might as well share it on ScrapScene WIP

3 thoughts on “Christmas Cards from my printables

  1. Pingback: Sunday-right-here – Christmas circle printables | Scrappy Sticky Inky Mess

  2. I think you’re turning English….’you can tart it up…’ I definitely recognise that phrase!! Love these cards and that they’re all so different, whatever the sketch. Really like Santa’s swirly suit.

  3. Great ideas for the coming holidays! TFS

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

