scrappystickyinkymess

WOYWW 129 – a printable card

29 Comments

What’s on my workdesk this week is not a lot.  DD is still unwell and last WOYWW she was in the throes of it.  I really shouldn’t have bothered to post at all because I knew getting to even a few desks was going to be a challenge.  But this week she is on an antibiotic and perking up a bit.  Still campaigning to stay home for the rest of the week (NO WAY!) but not quite so much wanting me with her.  That means my decks are cleared for blog hopping, which is good because I ALWAYS miss seeing what everyone is doing.  I may have to scroll back a bit too, to see what I may have missed! Hopefully the lovely Julia will forgive me my sins against WOYWW.  Believe me I am beating myself up about it enough for both of us. I wonder if a nice big tamale pie for the December crop will make amends?

On to slightly more crafty bit. It’s more my desktop than my workdesk, and it’s a printable card.  I was struggling to sort out the sizing, so it would print on one from a bag of card blanks I got in a Hobby Craft sale.  I fiddled and fiddled, trying to make the file size and the print match, but it will insist on putting a margin around it and shifting it all too far left.  It should work as a PDF but it simply doesn’t.  Hence the series of slightly different sized images in .jpg and .pdf form on the right monitor and the Google search for UK card sizes n the left.  I hate it when what seems logical to me doesn’t work the way I think it should.  I’m sure there is some stupid box that needs ticking or unticking to make it right, but given I can only snatch a few minutes at a time to try to sort it, I am giving up. So here is what it looks like.  I’ll add it as a download although suspect it is of limited interest.  It works for me, I hope if you like it and can use it, it works for you too!

One thing that I’ve noted after all these years in the UK is the differences in Christmas.  In the USA we do Santa, rather than Father Christmas (and fat, rather than thin – does that say something? not sure LOL!)  No one I know does a goose, this despite having JUST had the whole turkey-with trimmings the month before (TOMORROW!) for Thanksgiving.  Figgy (steamed) puddings may be popular someplace in the USA, but not for us – fruitcake is close, but cold, not hot.  Merry not Happy, never in all my youth was a sprout in evidence, and I had never heard of Boxing Day except when reading, and always wondered what and when it was.  So I thought for the very few limited cards I send with gifts back to family in the USA, it might be fun to highlight some of this.  Hence the card design.

As it’s a .jpg, not entirely sure what might happen with it.  I think either it will download automatically or, more likely, it will appear in a new window, in which case you can right click to save the image.  It should then print by just popping a 10 x 7 (more or less) card blank in just as you would load a piece of printer paper.  But, hey, give it a go and LMK what happens.  I tend to print things I’m not sure of first on cheap printer paper, on an economy setting, just to see what happens.  Maybe do that. And as it’s a .jpg you can ope it in PSE and fiddle with the size – I think it’s hi-res enough, at 300 dpi, to take a bit of resizing.

I’ll be desk-hopping while pretending to watch either another of the endless Barbie movies, or an episode of Glee for the 500th time.  Forgive me it I am less than clear in my comments.

Happy Thanksgiving for any US visitors.

29 thoughts on “WOYWW 129 – a printable card

  1. figgy pudding? Never heard of that!

    • “We wish you a Merry Christmas;
      We wish you a Merry Christmas;
      We wish you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.
      Good tidings we bring to you and your kin;
      Good tidings for Christmas and a Happy New Year.

      Oh, bring us a figgy pudding;
      Oh, bring us a figgy pudding;
      Oh, bring us a figgy pudding and a cup of good cheer…”

      🙂 Not dissimilar to the modern day Christmas Puddings!

  2. I’m pleased that DD is now on the mend, it sounded as though she was having a pretty tough time of it!! I love your card… would be brilliant just to print them all out and know how much they would cost to post… probably wouldn’t work from Canda though? LOL

  3. Thoughtful post. The goose IS getting fat and glad the antibiotics are starting to work. That card is stunning btw!

  4. I am glad that DD is doing better. Have been there done that Barbie movie…over and over and over again! LOL! Love the UK/ USA comparrison! Great card! -Amanda #7

  5. I can’t stay long. I have a lot of cooking and baking to do today, but had to find out if DD was better. Nice to read she is. I’ve also noticed you Brits say “Happy” instead of “Merry.” I love all the differences this brings. I’m #9 this week.

  6. Oh no – hope she is feeling better soon (I remember saying that last week too!) – I wouldnt mind watching the Glee over and over but you have my sympathies if she decides on Barbie today! Love the cards (although I dont do Roast Goose – I thought we all had turkey??) and I have never had figgy pudding either (although I have heard of that!) – great comparison though. Thanks for sharing. Sunshine Girl – No 19

  7. Pleased DD feeling alittle better sending big ((hugd)) for speedy recovery.Love your card sometimes i look at mine and too much detail i think .That looks crisp and stunning!
    Have fab wednesday and pop by i have Candy up for grabs
    hugs Judex 17

  8. Hope your DD gets better quickly. Lovely card and I don’t think I have ever had roast goose. We do prawns/ lobster etc on Christmas. It’s the whole christmas in summer thing in our part of the world!!

  9. Hope your DD gets better soon.. don’t they just get so bored,so quickly! Love your downloadable card too!
    Do pop by my blog if you get time.. have a little giveaway
    Hugs
    Jennie # 10

  10. Hi, I’m just doing a quick whizz round a few desks while I eat my breaky and before my little grandees arrive [I’ve got 4 of them coming this morning now 🙂 ].
    Your life sounds as busy as mine at the mo. Hope your DD gets better soon.
    Hugs,
    A x

  11. Hi there. Thanks for letting us peek into your creative space this week. It’s always inspiring seeing where and how we create! Hope the rest of your week goes very well for you. I too never have much luck lining up stuff on the printer so I understand your frustration!
    Neil #31

  12. Gosh it’s a slow mend for Maddy – hope the anti-B shstuff is really taking hold. You should never worry about WOYWW visiting – it’s an entirely flexible thing…but there’s little point me saying that; you’re a nice person and fell the need to reciprocate visits! There are no amends to make, but I do know two handfuls of people who will love a tamale pie!! You realise talking about crop means it’s almost December. Argh. I love the printable…you know about Boxing Day and Figgy Pudding and Goose, but Merry…I have a friend who contends that ‘Merry’ was always used to describe those who had imbibed and were cheerful about it, which is why we say Happy Christmas instead of wishing you Merry. I dunno. Given some roots in Victorian parsimoniousness, I think it’s on the feasible side! Although I don’t think parsimoniousness is a real word.

  13. Love the card, especially after I read about it! So glad your daughter is on the mend. We are having a Hobbity Thanksgiving with First Thanksgiving today and Second Thanksgiving tomrrow. I don’t believe I’ve ever had a goose, well not a fowl one any way lol. Hope your Thanksgiving is a lovely one :D. #55

  14. Great looking card! Glad to hear your DD is on the mend. Nothing worse then being sick over the holidays. I have lived in Oklahoma the greater part of my life and I can only remember a goose on the Christmas table once…can’t remember what it tasted like just that it about beat my dear Aunt to death cause she thought she could wring its neck like a chicken. Figgy pudding…never heard of it either. I do remember the plum puddings my nanny made! It always had a pence in it for good girls and boys…of course everyone got a coin. Thanks for sharing! Hope you have a great week. Vickie #64

  15. I was told by my mum that Boxing Day was the day the servants had off after Christmas and they got to celebrate their Christmas, I had also heard the St Stephen’s day derivation (where there were boxes put outside churches to collect for those less fortunate) – but looking at Wiki it seems no-one really knows……..

    The exact etymology of the term “boxing” is unclear and there are several competing theories, none of which is definitive.[3] The tradition has long included giving money and other gifts to those who were needy and in service positions. The European tradition has been dated to the Middle Ages, but the exact origin is unknown and there are some claims that it goes back to the late Roman/early Christian era; metal boxes placed outside churches were used to collect special offerings tied to the Feast of Saint Stephen.[4]

    In the UK, it was a custom for tradesmen to collect “Christmas boxes” of money or presents on the first weekday after Christmas as thanks for good service throughout the year.[5] This is mentioned in Samuel Pepys’ diary entry for 19 December 1663;[6] This custom is linked to an older English tradition: in exchange for ensuring that wealthy landowners’ Christmases ran smoothly, their servants were allowed to take the 26th off to visit their families. The employers gave each servant a box containing gifts and bonuses (and sometimes leftover food).

  16. Happy Thanksgiving! Our friends in the US are bemused by some of our food and traditions at Christmas, but I can’t get my head around sweet potatoes with marshmallows as a vegetable dish!!

    Happy WOYWW
    Debs #80

  17. I have my little one off with german measles at the mo, so I know how your feeling, hope she continues to improve. Gorjuss idea for a card and such a lovely blog you have xx

  18. Hope the meds kick in for Maddy quickly, no fun all round there! Very modern Christmas card, love the little details. We often do goose for Thanksgiving but the price more than doubled this year so we’ve gone for beef. Turkey is saved up for Christmas dinner. The one thing that strikes me the most about the UK/US Christmas celebrations is how quickly it’s all over in America. I see real trees abandoned by the curb the day after the big day and everyone taking down their lights too, it’s like “OK, done that, what’s next”! It irks me greatly!!

  19. I love all the differences …and I agree with Debs …some Thanks Giving dishes are not to the British palate …maybe we should try more things after all I love peanut butter and jam now I have tried it lol
    Glad to hear your DD is on the mend …soon she will be up and about and full of the joys . xx

  20. Cards look great I hope your daughter is better soon !
    Happy Thanksgiving for tomorrow
    Have a great week Fuchsia@98

  21. Australia shares more with the UK when it comes to Christmas than they do with the US and as we lived in the US I can sympathise with the confusion it brings sometimes… as to glee 500 times… think we are on about 876 in our house… starting to feel a bit beaten up by it !!! have fun and love the card xx

  22. I grew up in the US so feel a bit flexible with regards to attitude to Christmas I.e. I always say Merry Christmas. Unlike your other commentator, I find the U.S. quite slow in taking down decorations after Christmas unlike the U.K. which does it by twelfth night. I have never had the pleasure of Glee maybe one day????

  23. Love the card! Merry Christmas to you from Australia. Happy WOYWW. xx

  24. A great post and thinking point… I live in Ludlow, Shropshire, a culinary hotspot and the local butchers have goose a plenty here. I married to a Belgian and they have SinterKlaas on Dec. 5th which is all about St. Nicholas which the UK have somehow adopted as Santa Claus. So our meals have it all going on but load of Christmas pud is a must…Thanks for sharing a little of your life, a really fab card and desk! Sarah at 14

  25. Enjoyed reading your post again this week – hope your daughter is well on the mend now that she has antibiotics. Your card is terrific and a great conversation piece. Here in Scotland, it used to be Hogmanay and New Year that was the big holiday, it was also when we got our presents, but gradually Christmas seems to have overtaken it. I don’t remember us ever having goose or figgy pudding, my mother usually did three roasts, beef, chicken and gammon and desert was trifle, but we did have shortbread and black bun out for Hogmanay. Oh, and definitely no sprouts!!! Hope you have a great week and Happy Thanksgiving. Elizabeth x #81

  26. Oh hope she’s soon better and out of your hair so you can chill and create lol. I love my kids, but they are frustrating when they’re ill!! My eldest has just come home from College, where he lives during the week, feeling poorly, and even though he’s nineteen, I have had to cuddle him repeatedly, as he has a cold, and re dress his cut finger with steri-strips! I wouldnt mind, but he’s in training to be a gamekeeper!! for those in the US, the equivalent of a Ranger sort of!! And he keeps coming into my private sanctum, my craft room, to spend time with Mum, as he’s feeling poorly and wants some attention.
    I love the card, and wonder what some of my Canadian relatives would make of our English traditions? And I was taught at school, that it is Merry Christmas, and a Happy new year, never interchangeable, according to my English Grammar teacher!

  27. very interesting concept of digital cards, I started in digital arts before I went onto hand made cards
    Bridget #36

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

