scrappystickyinkymess

Christmas printables and glitter technique

34 Comments

NOTE:  See an updated post with a variation of the technique here.

I have discovered a love for my brayer.  I don’t know why `I haven’t used it much over the years, but I keep finding new crafty experiments to do with it.

I’ve been working on a few printables for Christmas.  I’m tweaking them a bit so some of my samples are slightly different to the finished products, but I will try to mention how.

One problem is that I have a bad habit of crowding the elements on the page.  It’s often only when I print them as a whole page I can see how they might be better spread out for ease of cutting.  So I tend to think first that people want to print just one sheet, and only have to download one sheet, but when I’m cutting them myself I can see how more white space offers more options. The ones that I used for these cards are a bit too tight on the page so you’ll have to wait till I shift them around and/or expand them to a two-page set before you can download them. I should have that sorted tomorrow, and samples so you can see how I used them.

But I did want to show you this cute technique. First, emboss some heavy weight smooth cardstock.

Squeeze a bit of glitter glue onto another piece of card. Card is best, rather than a plate or CD case, or anything smooth.

Load up your brayer with the glue, but run it back and forth over the card, which will take off any globs and smooth it out to a thin coating on the rubber.

Now brayer the glue, with a light touch so you are hitting JUST the embossed (raised) areas.  Don’t worry about the edges. Now let it dry – for a while, or use your embossing gun on it, although that fast drying tends to buckle the card a bit.

Trim the embossed and glittered piece to fit your card.  I daubed some Distress Ink along the edges. You can see one of the little circles from the set there, and the glittery spikey circle. Assemble.  And this is what it looks like.

Pretty, and pretty simple.  I did change the font on that element because in the small point size I thought it looked less smooth than I wanted it. The other bits are a little more Christmas-y, don’t worry, but I thought this one nice and Winter-y and worked well with the sparkle of the glitter.

34 thoughts on “Christmas printables and glitter technique

  1. Very pretty card…………….and the technique is easy enough that even I can do it! TFS

  2. Great idea – I have similar bulky tubes of glitter glue in different colors and I haven´t barely used them. Now I know what to do with them!

  3. Wow, love this idea. Why didn’t I think of that? …Edie

  4. This is a great technique. Thanks for the idea. It brings me closer to buying a brayer.

  5. ooo this is awesome now dont have any glitter glue but do have Stickles so might see if that works anyway – thanks so much for sharing Maryanne! Shaz in oz.x

  6. So very pretty!

  7. Very nice! This turned out great!

  8. That is sooooo clever – I’m off to my shed in a minute to have a go.
    Thanks for sharing.

  9. I Love this idea…. but got to ask… how do you clean the glue off the brayer????

  10. Kewl! Love it! Thanks!!

  11. Great technique. Thanks for sharing.
    Kerry~Momma K

  12. Pingback: stamping by mavuutje - Pearltrees

  13. Pingback: Of camera chargers, misspellings, and pins | Scrappy Sticky Inky Mess

  14. This is such a WOW. I would have done it the hard way (I have).

  15. I love the idea however you didn’t include the method you used to emboss the card. (I’m currently looking at embossing methods to maybe invest in)

    • It was a Cuttlbug embossing folder in my Grand Calibur, but you should be able to use and sort of embossing, from by-hand with an embossing stylus tool to folders or plates with many types of machines. There is nothing magic about my combo, it just happens to be what I have 🙂

      HTH!

      MA

      • If you don’t want to spend the money on an embossing machine, right away, You can buy the embossing folders and use a rolling pin. A little more work, but it will get the job done.

  16. Love the idea. I have just recently bought a brayer and was looking for ways to use it. How do you clean the glitter glue off the brayer?

    • I just wipe it with a baby wipe. Or you can removed the rubber part and wash it. It actually comes of easy – mine is called GLITTER GEL not glitter glue so maybe it’s less sticky? I did try it with a different brand that did say GLUE not gel and it worked too and was almost as easy to clean off 🙂

      HTH

      Mary Anne

  17. Pingback: Embossed Embossing | Scrappy Sticky Inky Mess

  18. wow that is a perfect idea.. I never thought of doing it . Great now I am learning. Many thanks to share this website and your idea..

  19. Awesome idea! Can’t wait to try it myself!

  20. This is a fabulous idea! Thanks for sharing!

  21. I really like this idea! Would you be O.K. with me posting this technique on my blog, http://www.addictedtostampin.com? I will make sure that is linked to your page.

  22. Brilliant!

  23. Pingback: Use Your Stuff – Embossing Folders | ScrapZee

  24. Pingback: Christmas printables and glitter technique | annladenberger

  25. Pingback: Two interesting Gelli experiments | scrappystickyinkymess

  26. So neat – great idea!!

  27. yeah, Agreed to all. It is a great idea and the way it presented is amazing. Christmas is near and it is really a great time to share something like this.

  28. Pingback: Quick card from printables | scrappystickyinkymess

  29. Thanks for sharing how to clean the brayer. That made it very tempting to try.

  30. Loved your idea, never used a Breyer but will invest in one now. Thank you so much for sharing.

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

