scrappystickyinkymess

SDC – welcome the new DT members!

13 Comments

Another day, another SDC!  And very exciting, there are new DT members, and a fair few from the UK.  The challenge was to make a Welcome card, so I did!

Doesn’t look like much at first, but I had been looking for instructions on slider cards and saw a video on YouTube that made it all very clear.  Of course, I had to find a new twist on it so I used Nestabilities and made a shaped slider.  Fun – I’m working on a video slide show but am a bit worried it is perhaps hard to communicate the steps in stills.  We’ll see.

Here is a look at the card as it slides:

And a bit of a close up of the words – watched Who Framed Roger Rabbit? over the holidays and Jessica Rabbit’s line of “I’m not bad…I’m just drawn that way” was very much the inspiration there.  I needed to use this image as it fit the space, but he didn’t look as pleased, or as “welcoming” as I felt he should 🙂

And the UK ladies will appreciate the Congratulations and Celebrations sentiment – you can’t beat Sir Cliff for a bit of schmaltz, can you? LOL!

So congratulations to all the new DT members – can’t wait to see what you make and to a load of fun new challenges to come!

As a sidebar, I am sorry to hear that Milo has left the DT – she was my favourite, so I’ll miss seeing her cards every week or so but will make do with her blog.

13 thoughts on “SDC – welcome the new DT members!

  1. love the sentiment you’ve used on this fab piece. Thanks for joining in the welcoming!

  2. Beautiful work … as always!

  3. What an absolutely fabulous card! Really had to laugh when I read the sentiment! Thanks for joining in to welcome us!

  4. Great card, thanks for the linky…..off for a look

  5. oh i love this mary~anne
    i’ve been meaning to have a go at a slider for ages…but i think i’ll wait for your video now!!
    :0)

  6. This is gorgeous, and I love the sentiment too 😀

  7. Wow gorgeous card and very creative!

    Thanks for the peek! 😀

    ♥Tracey♥…ƸӜƷ

  8. Fabulous job, love the slider card and the saying. Very creative. Thanks for playing over at Stampotique Designer’s Challenge and good luck!

  9. Great, great card. You’ve inspired me to want to try my hand at something similar! Thanks for joining us at SDC!

  10. what a terrific piece of artwork! gotta tell u that besides being such a good blog- I LOVE your calendar! lol

  11. Cool.I would love to see a tutorial for this card. I love it!Thanks for playing over at Stampotique Designer’s Challenge

  12. Corrr. this is fabulous, loving the sentiment you made… so funny ! Thanks for joining in with the Stampotique challenge!

  13. Thanks for the welcome! This is fabulously constructed 🙂

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

