scrappystickyinkymess

This is bat country

Gilding flakes on Modelling paste

11 Comments

Rather scatterbrained today – our mail server has been down for nearly 2 days and the US ISP isn’t addressing it as quickly as we’d like, so worried I am missing out on some critical mail. But I guess that just leaves me more time to get crafty LOL!

So the shot of my desk yesterday showed an experiment.  I got a set of the Inktense blocks.  Frankly I wasn’t super keen on them until I read you can grate them and mix with water to create inks that are permanent when dry.  Now THAT is something I am very interested in.  My plan had been to have a go at this over some modelling paste, but as I had JUST tidied up (massively) and stuff I hadn’t used in ages was still in my short-term memory, I thought  I wonder…?

MPflakes

and grabbed my pot of gilding flakes.  My feeling was that the modelling paste, while wet, would grab the flakes.  When it dried, the flakes would not only be stuck, they would be stuck strong. So while the paste was damp (ie maybe 5 mins or so after applying? )  It should still glisten on the surface but if you touch it, it should feel semi-solid

2MPflakes

I scattered on some gilding flakes – this bag is one I got ages ago and the flakes are very large, almost like sheets, 2 or 3 inches square.  I laid them over gently, covering the surface on 1/2 of the modelling paste figure.

3MPflakes

I left the paste to dry totally then whisked away the flakes with a brush.  Personally, I think that scrubbie thing that comes with the flakes dulls the shine so I don’t really use it.

4MPflakes

I think the bare areas might have been down to me not pressing the flakes into the paste or, for the tiny areas, that bit being drier than the rest.  But overall I felt the coverage was good and I was able to whisk pretty briskly and the flakes stayed stuck.

So what I expected to work was to re-lay the stencil then sponge the FlitterGlu over the dried modelling paste then gild as usual.

5MPflakes

I did that on the OTHER half.  And it worked as expected. So far so good.  I left it for a while to make sure the paste and glue was dry.  Then I grated up some of the Inktense block, mixed in a bit of water, and make a spray.  Easy Peasy.

8MPflakes

I sprayed that over the gilded area, and let it dry.

9MPflakes

Nice and watercolour-y – you can vary the vibrancy by adding more (or less) water. Now here is where it gets odd.  What I hoped to do was buff away the ink before it totally dried (’cause I keep hearing it is PERMANENT WHEN DRY) to reveal the gilded areas.

Yeah. Right.

So what I had read, and seen on videos, is that you can layer other wet mediums over he Inktense and it will not smear.  With this in mind I used a slightly damp baby wipe to wipe away the mist from the surface of the gilding flakes.  Two things to note – first, the flakes that were embedded in the modelling paste stayed put nicely.  The ones applied over the FlitterGlu?  Not so much.

10MPflakes

The left is the FlitterGlu.  But I also noted that the Inktense spray DID wipe away, at least partially. Not so water-fast then.

I suspect I need to experiment a little more with this.  But overall, I like the application of the gilding flakes over the modelling paste idea.  It could be quite an interesting technique on an AJ page, certainly for a top layer.  Likewise, I suspect glitter would embed nicely – and if it were a top layer then the FlitterGlu method would work as well, but why add another consumable resource if you don’t need to IYKWIM?  As to the Inktense mists, again, more testing.  Maybe heat setting it for longer rather than just letting it dry might help it remain water-resistant , not sure.  I know it is easy to scribble with the block then blend with a baby wipe and not wipe it away totally so it is at least slightly water-resistant.  And the colour is rich and deep.  But I am glad I had a go at the idea on a piece of paper rather than in my AJ.  I think I’ll enjoy pushing these blocks to their artistic limits, trying out a few ideas I have, to see what works. And I’ll be sure to report back!

 

11 thoughts on “Gilding flakes on Modelling paste

  1. I just love your idea – I saw it yesterday on WOYWW and I had to come back today to see how it went! I am like a magpie – love glittery, shiny stuff so this is something for me! I wonder if Dylusions would work with this but I think they are not permanent when dry! Anyway thank you for showing this – I will try it out – maybe today if I have the time!
    Lots of hugs,
    Cardarian

    • The Dylusions work great over the gilding flakes, really nice and rich, and they soak into the card but wipe off of the flakes as you would expect. The problem is that they are not waterfast. It’s the one thing I hate about them. You just can’t then layer something wet over them without smearing. That was why I was quite excited to try the Inktense blocks to make mists. To be honest, so far as spraying over the gilding flakes, my feeling is the Dylusions work BETTER cause they do really wipe away from the surface completely. So your instincts are good :)
      :)

      MA

  2. I love this post! The overall effect is wonderful! I think the experimental nature of the outcome adds to it, it means you can’t plan too much in advance. Maybe the inktense blocks are waterproof if you use with a porous surface? I know that affects the ink pads a lot so maybe it’s the same for these blocks? I think you have the same modelling paste I have. I love it with stencils, but find it’s very hit and miss with stamping into it, have you done much of that?

    • Might be right there, not sure, but I was fairly certain I saw at least one sample someplace of Inktense over a Gessoed surface as well as on plain paper like I did. Maybe try Gesso next and heat set it? That tube of paste is leftover from a while back :) I’ve had such good success making my own I don’t buy it anymore. I unearthed it during my tidy-up so I figured I’d use it up and throw away the tube :D. Never tried stamping (I’m guessing INTO?) the paste. I am SO BAD at cleaning my tools I fear I would ruin any stamp I used to do that. DOH!

      MA

  3. I just had to come and check out your latest exercise and it is a good one, thank you for running the blocks through the mill so to say. Like always your instincts are correct and what a brilliant exercise. I don’t think I will race out and purchase any inktense blocks anytime soon. It will be interesting as the former commenter said about gessoed surface and then try the exercise.

    Hugs Eliza

  4. Looks fabulous – I have some of those gilding flakes which have been lurking for some time, not being quite sure what I want to do with them. Isn’t it amazing how sometimes the things you think will work don’t so much and vice versa? I’m enjoying th needle-top bottles btw – I think I will be going through a Scribbled Background Period for a while! :o)

  5. Looks fab ..i really like the effect its created. and thanks for the tips i have some modelling paste but not used it as yet this has given me the confidence to give it a go have a good week Andrea x

  6. Had to come back and check out what you were doing and pleased I did. This is a great technique. I love gilding flakes and this is a great way to use them. I have a set of Inktense and haven’t really made good use of them, maybe I will get them out again.
    Thanks for sharing this great project.
    Happy Crafting, Angela x

    • Be sure to check back today :) I have two additional used for he flakes that I’ve not seen used before that you might find fun :) I also used the Inktense blocks to do a background…
      Glad you enjoyed the post.

      MA

  7. Pingback: Sunday Links to Tangles, Tutorials and Giveaways #zentangle #Giveaways #ArtJournal | lifeimitatesdoodles

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,018 other followers