scrappystickyinkymess

This is bat country

A new Art Journal from envelopes

6 Comments

My existing AJ is starting to get full. It wasn’t too big to begin with so that isn’t surprising – although *I* am surprised I’ve managed to make more than 2 pages and haven’t abandoned the process yet.   LOL!

Anyway, if you read here often you know I like making stuff from scratch.  I had an idea t make an AJ that shared some of the properties of a paper bag book, in that it included areas to stash stuff.  When at Staples, looking for something totally unrelated, I found these massive envelopes.

newenvelopeAJ

I thought there was an idea there.  I’ve started my folding each envelope in half, up to the edge of the fold-over flap

2newenvelopeAJ

Note they are called “manilla” when in fact they are more like heavy paper bags.  That is what I keep banging on about – the UK manilla isn’t like the US manilla..oh would that it was.  I knew they paper was likely to allow bleed thru so I decided to gesso the pages before constructing the book.

3newenvelopeAJ

Some of the pages got scraped gesso, some got brushed gesso, and some got either one, then folded together and pulled apart to produce texture, then left to dry.

But another serendipitous thing – while at the grocery store I grabbed a cheap kid’s dough modelling toolkit. It had a pizza cutter in it so I used that as a texture tool.  It is blunt so should also work fab on the Gelli plate!

4newenvelopeAJ

See how simple, but cool, are the marks?

5newenvelopeAJ

And there is a wavy scallop as well!

6newenvelopeAJ

I think having the pages ready to go will mean no more fear of the blank page.

The whole toolkit was so cheap and in addition to the pizza cutter and the wavy cutter there are some other useful items – the paddle scraper is handy, the little hard brayer might be interesting with some wire or rubber bands wrapped around it, and the little interchangeable tools I’ve not yet thought much about, but I’m sure they will make some interesting marks. Check out that price…

7newenvelopeAJ

So I’ll be Gesso-ing like made while the sun shines and the pages can dry outside with the laundry. I’m thinking that a series of sewn signatures (maybe two envelopes each, with the flaps one side, then reverse the envelope for the other side) with a hard matboard cover (maybe even stuck inside a folded envelope?  not sure of that) will make a nice sturdy book.  The size is good, and I imagine I could stash all manner of bits inside the open envelope (loose pages, written or even typed journaling, photos or magazine articles or newspaper clippings that have been annotated by me…) so long as they aren’t bulky.  It’ll be interesting to see how it works out/IF it works out…

LOL!  Probably doomed to failure, if I were superstitious, as this is my 1300th post….

6 thoughts on “A new Art Journal from envelopes

  1. Thanks for this great tip!

  2. that is brilliant-using the kid’s kit to make marks in your art work! hmm…now maybe I will have to try that! looking forward to seeing how your journal turns out!

  3. Fab idea using kiddies tools on your Gelli plate, love it x

  4. indeed fab textures in the gesso

  5. Love that Idea. Im going to be making one using an evelope as the cover and card pages which I saw on a Terri Kahrs video on You Tube.

    Definitely getting that wee tool set though for use with the gelli plate

  6. oh wow, those marks are going to create really cool effects aren’t they, can’t wait to seehow this turns out :o)

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 987 other followers