scrappystickyinkymess

This is bat country

Gelli plate prints and making your own stencils

15 Comments

WARNING: SO MANY photos! MASSIVELY LONG post!

As you may have seen I had a play the other day with making some stamps/texture plates for my Gelli plate using sticky backed fun foam.  I thought I would share some of the results of my play with them and a few things I learned.

First, I have this plate from 10 Second Studio – it’s a grid, and I love the effect it gives on the Gelli plate:

10ssplate 10ssplusmystamp

The grid comes out so crisp I just love it. For the next one, I used a ghost print effect – ie I applied the paint, pulled the print, then applied white paint over the more or less dried paint on the plate then pulled that.  I love that technique.  I think I saw it done first by Carolyn Dube. This is a great video! ALL her videos on Gelli printing are fab.

otherstamp

For this one, instead of brayering on the paint, I sponged it on with a sea sponge.  That idea was one I had, but I subsequently found it done before in a VERY LONG (but most excellent) video by ASpriteMetamorphosis.  This is a great starter video. At almost 2 hours you will need to make time to watch it.

spongewithgelli

Layered up with one of my stamps, and a commercial stencil.

spongewithgelli2

Again, loving the ghost print!

spongewithgellighost

Two of my favourite prints are these next two. This one is with a cheap stencil flourish over that last ghost print and sponging

favegelli2

This one is lots of layers, using that white-paint-over-dirty-plate technique.  I actually pressed the 10SS grid onto one of my foam stamps (you can see the one just under the green print above!) and stamped it – loved how that transferred.  I would def. take that to other stamping, not just Gelli printing.

favegelli

Now, stencil cutting:

I cut a stencil on my Cricut.  I had a bit of a hunt, and I found people doing this using paper, then adding Mod Podge to the paper, or using vinyl, but I guess I thought vinyl might be expensive, and of course I don’t have any.  I’ve also seen videos for cutting similar sort of mediums (I think they were plastic dividers of some kind) with a craft knife or one of those hot pen cutters but frankly that is just too much work.  What I DID have was those report covers I used for my Stamp reorg.  And it worked a treat.  Yes the stencil is thin (hence the ability to cut it with the Cricut) but it works after you get a few layers of paint on it, it stiffens up.

You can design simple shapes using SCAL but I tend to use my program (Mac only) Intaglio then save the file as an .svg and open it in SCAL to cut.  Here is one design:

ovalsstencil

I only have the Baby Bug (only 6″ wide mat) and the 6″ Gelli plate and that was a HUGE mistake.  I should have gotten the 8×11 one right off the bat.  DOH! So my stencil fits within a 6 x 6 inch block.  The first one I tried to cut, the folder material scooted as the blade shot over to the right.  A small bit of masking tape solves that and on MY Cricut did NOT affect the movement of the mat as it was cutting.  YMMV.

ovalsstencil2

Just the normal process, apply paint, lay on stencil, pull, remove stencil pull.

ovalsstencil3

These are the two prints:

mystencil

Yeah, Carolyn rarely cleans her plate (and I’m with her on that) and I like it because of the layered transfer prints you get.  That bit of red is a holdover from a print yesterday and I think it adds an interesting element.  Interesting, too, that the two people I’ve linked to could not be more different.  Carolyn rarely cleans, Christy has very good instruction for keeping your plate pristine.  They both do fabulous prints from virtually opposite ends of the cleanliness spectrum.

I printed another using a chevron pattern, in green over the ghost-on-the-plate from the ovals, then did the white-paint-transfer thing and got this!  Lurve it.

chevronstencil

I am curious — is there any benefit to me putting the .svg files for the stencils I designed up on some download service?  They can obviously be scaled up to fit a bigger machine, and I was able to “break apart” the elements in SCAL for editing, but they are not so outstandingly innovative (certainly not the chevron – seen 100 versions of that) or even difficult that you couldn’t make your own and then cut them using the basic shapes in SCAL.  I HAVE tried creating the patterns in Photoshop but when I do I can never open the SAVE AS > .svg files in SCAL.  And with the Intaglio creations I HAVE to use the SHAPES (although I seem to recal I can use text as long as I CONVERT TO SHAPE before saving as the .svg.  Anyway, the point is I say it’s easy to do it yourself, but in reality it may not be.  And I have NO IDEA if the .svg files will open in any other cutting machine software or in MTC or indeed in any other version of SCAL! Comment and LMK what you think.  I have lots of ideas for other ones I want to try.

Gosh this is totally addictive.  Curse you Gelli, you are the  arty equivalent of crack!

15 thoughts on “Gelli plate prints and making your own stencils

  1. Dear scrappystickyinkymess,

    Whew, that was hard to type in. Hi, I’ve just recently found your site and have enjoyed all the different things you have been sharing. In this post you mentioned cutting stencils with your Cricut. My mother and I have done this, and I absolutely love them! We use transparencies. The super light weight transparencies are a bit too delicate, but if you get some just a little heavier, they will stand up to lots of use. I’ve cut so many that I am going to have to find a better way to store them. I don’t know the details of the weight of the transparencies at the moment, but if I discover that, I’d be happy to sent you the information. Thank you for sharing!

    Sincerely,

    Kristy Tyra

    • Hi there!

      I’ve done the transparency way before for cutting more like scrapbook embellishments, but I am liking using the report covers because they are not AS flimsy as the transparencies, maybe more…rubbery? If that makes sense :) Also, the problem I always had with the transparencies is they crease. Maybe it is the “rubbery” nature of the report covers that make them seem more flexible. Don’t know. But as is usual with me I tend to use what I have and I have report covers :) All out of transparencies just at the moment.

      Another thing – I seem to remember that sometimes with the transparencies I would get a little burr on the edge – it seems like the report covers cut smoother somehow – but it’s been 5 or more years since I cut transparencies for a scrapbook so I *could* be mis-remembering LOL!

      Thanks for letting me know. I’m sure many people will have transparencies and not report covers so good to mention it here.

      Cheers!

      Mary Anne

    • hi kristy,
      i just a video on storing stencils in a 3 ring binder in sheet protectors, or if they are large, storing them in a 12×12 scrapbook in the page protectors.
      i would be interested in knowing how you make stencils with the cricut, if you wouldn’t mind. thanks!

  2. This is one of those things I’ve been wanting to get and try, so I’m living vicariously through you….love your experimenting, can’t wait to see more!

  3. Thanks so much for all your experiments and research. You are always so thorough. I went to the big Manchester craft show today and (amongst other things I couldn’t find to buy) there wasn’t a Gelli plate to be had in the place! now I’m even more irked that I couldn’t get one after seeing your post. Ah, well! I’ll have to buy online… no wonder the shops close!
    Jo x

  4. Hi Mary Anne – have just found your blog via WOYWW and wanted to say a big THANK YOU for your ideas and inspiration. I haven’t done any cardmaking for ages and you’ve given me lots of ideas for a scrapbook I need to start. Thanks again, Chris x

  5. So interesting to read through this post! A lot of the products you mention, I don’t know about (will google Gelli Plate!). I’m enjoying seeing what you are creating though. I do have a cricut (used by a little ole lady, once on a Sunday..if you know what I mean). It’s lovely seeing how you are utilizing the different products & techniques to create something wonderful. Most enjoyable and thanks for taking the time with the pictures. I’ll check out the links when I have some time to sit & enjoy the view. TFS

  6. It is art crack! And you just gave me another “fix”! Your layers are scrumptious- so many great ghosts! So glad you joined the party!

  7. Your prints are fab! X

  8. Thank you, thank you, thank you for these instructions! i just left a long post on youtube asking how to make stencils with the cricut, and then i find them right here on your blog! i must admit it’s like reading greek to me since i don’t own a cricut! my friens does though, maybe she’ll know what .svg and SCAL mean!
    i saw the video on making stencils with the craft knife and the heat tool, and i went out and bought a heat tool (with accessories that i don’t even know if i’ll ever use!), but i am not findind free printable stencil patterns anywhere! So… i’m hoping that my friend might be able to make some for me.

  9. I love long posts! So much to see! You created awesome papers!

  10. Ohhhhh and Ahhhhhhh! Love you post and all of your Gelli ideas! I saw a video about cutting stencils, and went and purchased the cutting tool….. I cut some Cricut patterns from CS and used Modge Podge, and the did not hold up- need to paint them or something to make the cardstock stronger. Love your idea about sharing designs- I have the MtC, but am not the greatest about making patterns…..

  11. Hi! I just found your blog via Pintrest…soooo cool! I have a large Gelli plate coming in the mail tomorrow and can’t wait to use it.
    I love all the idea you give here for using it…what kind of paper are you printing on?
    Thanks!!

    • I buy 160gsm paper from Staples -it’s sold as Text & Graphics paper. It’s heavier than printer paper but not like proper heavy cardstock IYKWIM. I also have done Deli p[aper, on the sticky side of contact paper, tin foil, lots. Just experiment!

      Thanks for your comment :)

      MA

  12. I make stencils on my Cricut I use transparencies BUT I spray adhesive on two or or three and stick them together let them dry overnight and use my deep cutting blade, high pressure, blade on 6 speed medium and on 2 multi cut I also spray the back of stencil with a low tack adhesive so I don’t get leakage under the stencil I have been using my stencils this way for several years, I store them in a large binder on plastic page protectors in alphabet order to be easy to find.

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,091 other followers