scrappystickyinkymess

This is bat country

More arty T-Shirt transfers

5 Comments

Sorry, I know I said I would be adding the shots of the Copic-coloured T-shirt iron on today, and I WILL do it tomorrow, but as that one uses a pretty odd-ball product I wanted to show more using the more common flip-and-iron transfer paper first as I am thinking most people would have access to that and Copic colouring most definitely does NOT work on that (or at least not on the brand I have – and no luck on finding the packaging so far)

This is very photo-intense – be warned.

The first thing I did was cut the transfer paper with a Nestie.  As the transfer is fairly stiff when ironed on, I thought a smaller overall area would be best.

I started with Distress ink to create the background.  Even though you are reversing it to iron it on, the TOP layer of your art appears on top – does that make sense?

tshirtart

Then, like the other piece, I layered things up. The first new thing I tried was masking.  I stamped the butterfly with Memento over the DI background then cut a mask.

tshirtart1

The mask does not stick to the DI (or it didn’t for me) which is ok as it won’t tear the transfer film but it will shift so be careful. I over stamped with more DI.

tshirtart2

I then painted in bits of the wings with more watered down DI – wondering if Twinkling H20s would transfer still twinkling? Mica mist?  Lots to try…

tshirtart4

I sponged thru the sequin waste…and edged with my permanent marker….

tshirtart5

…but I totally forgot about the Distress Stain stamping with Picket fence!  Then I had to edge again.

tshirtart7

Now, I mentioned that I thought I would be able to print on this, text reversed, so it appeared the right way round when ironed on.  Oh yes!

First I created the word block, then reversed it.  Fortunately I printed it on printer paper first, as I would then need to stick the piece to that to run it through the printer again to actually print on my circle.  Good thing too as my printer (a Canon) has a T-shirt transfer paper option BUT when you select that it REVERSES the text AUTOMATICALLY – and yes, that means the text I reversed was then flipped back the right way.  So check out YOUR printer options to make sure it will print the way you want! Printed again…

tshirtart8

tshirtart9

tshirtart10

And yes, that is it actually ironed on to a tee!

tshirtart11

Now, I will just add the samples of the Copic colouring – one that worked great, and one that was too closely trimmed at the bottom (or maybe wasn’t ironed on firmly enough for long enough, not sure) so you can see what is in store.  I don’t often “tease” people like this but really, adding all I have for THAT technique today would simply be tooooooo much info. Stamped and coloured….

copicT

Printed and coloured…

copictee

Ironed on.  Good except the boots/feet!

copicteeiron

So that should give you plenty to play with for now….

5 thoughts on “More arty T-Shirt transfers

  1. I need to get some sponges to use my distressing guess I’ve been doing things wrong all along and the reason I don’t create such beautiful things!

  2. Pingback: Crafty Tutorial Link-Ups

  3. Pingback: SDC84 – Love art | Scrappy Sticky Inky Mess

  4. Pingback: Turn a Blog tutorial into a PDF | Scrappy Sticky Inky Mess

  5. Pingback: ADL journal progress | scrappystickyinkymess

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,015 other followers