scrappystickyinkymess

This is bat country

Christmas Card Printables

8 Comments

Note: If you pop to this post here you can see how to turn a group into a cute 3d ornament for your tree.

Just playing around with card printables.  These are not radically different from my set last year but different enough, and flexible enough that I think they work well.

Now, the printables can be used in lots of different ways.  I did crowd them onto the sheet, so you can get 10 of them with one print, but that limits you to cutting them out rather than die-cutting them.  There are two pages – one more Christmas, one more Season’s Greetings.

To make the odd angled card base:

  1. cut a 10 1/2 x 6 inch piece of cardstock
  2. score at 4 inches and 8 inches
  3. mark 2 inches from the left edge (on the bottom edge) and 1/2 inch to the right of the score line at 8 inches on the top edge.
  4. Line your ruler up with the upper left corner and the 2 inch mark and cut
  5. Line your ruler up with the 1/2 inch mark and the lower right corner and cut

You should end up with a parallelogram like this!

Of course you can make a simple folded card but I liked the slightly wonky angle of this – and depending how you fold it and which way is up,  you can alter how it stands. For this one, I cut out one of the wintry trees, added some Stickles, and embossed each flap only.

I did my brayered glitter technique on the embossing and added the tree.  In this one, the angle cut is top to bottom.

But it still stands just fine. The starburst from the folder falls just right to top the tree – a happy accident, I think, certainly not by design!

Another option is to cut out a group of 4 trees (and note that you can trim them with a white border as you see left, if you prefer) then score three in half.  You can see where this is going, I think….

Stick three together to make a 3D tree

Add a star and a bit of ribbon and stick the tree  on the angle edge – this one is a different orientation but it still works!

You can also cut a 4th tree and add it inside to hide the back. Can you see this is printed on textured cardstock?  I think that really makes it look better

You can be very frugal and use only two trees rather than three and it still looks cute.  Standing up:

It looks like it’s leaning but I assure you it’s standing up!

Have fun with it and if you come up with a fab design using the printables, do share!

8 thoughts on “Christmas Card Printables

  1. I love, love, love this Christmas tree card. Thank you so much for the printables. I am planning to make some today

  2. These are GORGEOUS, MaryAnne. Thanks so much for sharing.
    Sue x

  3. Pingback: Christmas Card-a-Day: Day 39

  4. I just discovered your wonderful blog. Thank you so much for sharing your great talent. Do you happen to have a matchbook calendar that is printable? Thanks again.

    • I don’t – but if you tell me the exact dimensions you are looking for, I might be able to adapt one that I have already made by resizing it that will work.

      HTH

      Mary Anne

  5. Pingback: Ornament from my printables | Scrappy Sticky Inky Mess

  6. This is just awesome, thanks so very much for sharing all this with us here. So generous of you. I also just found your blog here recentluy and have been following it a couple of weeks, and I´m stunned about the talent you share with everyone here.

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 989 other followers