scrappystickyinkymess

This is bat country

Welcome to the Circus – a house of cards

16 Comments





Really, really pleased with this one.  The basic structure is the traditional “house of cards” using a discarded specialty deck gifted to me by my son, the magician.  It’s remarkable sturdy and I would expect it to last.  The inner bits, as they are not awfully easy to see thru the banner and the other bits, are just smudged with Distress Ink in a rainbow of colours then stamped with, I think, a Fancy Pants stamp.  The banner I cut from chipboard and covered then added the letters.







You can see the basic backgrounds here, as well as all the little circus characters, all stamped, coloured with Copics, and cut then stuck to the backgrounds. Humm, what IS that site on the monitors?  LOL! Here is the other side:







Here is the little Ringmaster – I did as I said I would and stamped him, scanned him (at 600 DPI) and then made him a bit bigger and printed and coloured. He was just a little bit too small, and I needed some key points to hit the card edges so I could stick him for better stability.







And finally, the banner.  Shame it is so dark and rainy here today – I may take better photos when the natural light is a bit better.







Bit blurry that one, sorry.



Anyway, that bit of crafting exhausted me.  A lot of very fiddly work,  If I never cut out a tiny stamped image again it will be too soon.



Hope you like it.



16 thoughts on “Welcome to the Circus – a house of cards

  1. What work of art! Love the theme, and the way you’ve used the cards – also very symbolic! The lettering is just the right type of font for this too. Hope you can relax and recover now!

  2. wow that is really clever. looks fantastic :)

  3. This is stunning and I love the banner/bunting

  4. Wow! Looks awesome…very impressive!

  5. That does look like a lot of intricate cutting,but wow…look at the result. Fabulous!

  6. Well THAT is just the most clever and cutest thing ever! Thanks for sharing!Hope your DD is feeling better! Have a great weekend!

  7. Just fab! what a work of art x

  8. Absolutely Bloomin’ amazing!

  9. What a incredible job – you are too clever. Great project. Thank you for sharing it with us.

  10. I love this, the cards, the stamping, the colours, it all goes so well and the sentiment just made me smile… I imagined it on a table inside your front hallway!!

  11. Wow your card display is lovely – thanks for the inspiration – I have just left you an award for having such a lovely blog on my blog – its at http://www.sunshinegirlnicola.blogspot.com/ – Nicki (aka Sunshine Girl)

  12. Pingback: Sunday-someplace-else House of Cards « Scrappy Sticky Inky Mess

  13. Wow. That’s just lovely. However long did it take to make? Or do you not dare to keep count???

  14. wow this is fantastic !

  15. I can’t think of a superlative equal to this piece of work, I love your stuff, I always spend a while perusing ur blog instead of carrying on with WOYWW…

  16. Pingback: Reader Scrapbooking Projects

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,028 other followers