scrappystickyinkymess

This is bat country

Paper rosettes

5 Comments

A year or more ago I sent a mini-book back with DH to give to his Aunt and Uncle.  His auntie is a bit of an artist herself, and she very kindly sent back to me both a mini she made by scanning the book I sent and embellishing it with some extra goodies AND a couple of little cards for the kids.  The cards each had money, folded in interesting ways, and I always meant to pursue how to make them but never did.







You can see one is a little rosette and one is a curled heart.  So sweet (although it didn’t stop the kids from disassembling them and spending the money!)



The other day I saw the Tim Holtz die that makes paper rosettes.  As I have said it is only recently I got an actual die cut machine (with both a Craft Robo and a Cuttlebug it seemed a bit redundant to get a manual machine) but the lovely embossing folders meant I needed something and the pasta machine just wasn’t doing it for me in the end.   Anyway, the paper rosette die looks interesting but not sure if my machine, a very old Zip-e-mate, would do the job so I looked for a way to make them with stuff I had.  The Martha Stewart score board, with it’s multitude of evenly placed scoring grooves, proved the perfect solution.  I did a little You Tube video on how I did it, incorporating Auntie’s idea of the tied element through the layers to hold it all in place. and I just love how sweet they look.








I imagine it would be easy enough to make them in a few sizes, and I assume other scoring systems would work too, but as I have the MS one (which I love) that’s what I used. Have a go.  They are really easy and can be made from as little as a 1 inch strip of patterned paper.  I think they would also make adorable graduation cards, for example, making a bit more out of a gift of “folding money” than just a little sleeve, or sticking the bill inside the card.




5 thoughts on “Paper rosettes

  1. Ha – someone else with a zip-e-mate, although I’m afraid I recently copped out and bought a Big Shot so that I could use the TH dies(!) Great idea. I will definitely try this with the scoreboard.

  2. Pingback: WOYWW – 11/8/2010 « Scrappy Sticky Inky Mess

  3. What are the measurements on this scoreboard? Are those lines about 1cm apart?

  4. Pingback: Scrapbooking & Paper Crafting Tutorial

  5. BravoooooooooooooooooooooµMERCI
    md

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you found something interesting and welcome your feedback. If you ask a question, and don't add your email, do either subscribe to replies or check back. I try to answer every question if I can. Cheers!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,019 other followers